We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Training at its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant

KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 3,002 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Training at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Koto restaurant produces great food - take that as a given. It may not be the easiest restaurant to find in Saigon but it is certainly worth the hunt. It manages to produce an air of sophistication whilst always making you aware that it is in fact striving to achieve the highest standards with some of the youngest waiters, waitresses and chefs around.

I was hugely impressed, as a retired teacher, by what is being achieved with these young people from disadvantaged backgrounds: they really are being given the gift of a first-class training which will allow them access to jobs and promotion in years to come.

The range of the menu, the wonderful combinations of flavours from the East and West and the enthusiastic service in what was a really lovely setting made for one of he most memorable meals of our trip. Congratulations to all involved and best wishes for the continued success of a truly worthwhile project.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    91
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The dinner was organised by Intrepid which supports the KOTO organisation (they take in young people from poor areas and train them to work in restaurants and hospitality). I wasn't sure what to expect but I have to say the food and service was outstanding. I can't say whether it was good value as it was part of the intrepid tour inclusions but I suspect it was very reasonable for what we ate. I highly recommend this place....it has a nice ambience, excellent food and you'll be supporting a great cause.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeze10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Koto has a great vibe. the space is inviting and cool. The bands that occasionally play there are good.
The food is creative and an interesting mix of influences, try the "tacos". The organization also does a great job of giving back to VN by training people who are woefully poor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great...great...great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fine dining restaurant...service is the best that You found in town...Vietnamise contemporary food on a very reasonable price for the location...quality and service you will get!
Highly reccomended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank viet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food, nice staff, a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I tried the cheeseburger. Took a while to get, and a bit cold, but except from that it was really good. A little expensive though at 150,000 VND. Nice environment and staff.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing