We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant

KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 2,654 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: KOTO Saigon is a new restaurant opened in October 2011 with Modern Vietnamese fusion menu. KOTO is a not-for-profit social enterprise, which works with disadvantaged youth in Vietnam and empowers them with to learn and strive in their lives.KOTO stands for “Know One, Teach One”: learning should be passed on; knowledge is there to be shared.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A fabulous experience from young people developing excellent skills to start them out on a positive career.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wharfytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    84
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vale Da Telha
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delightful tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We sat inside in a clean air conditioned dining room.

Staff all being trained by Koto where lovely attentive and informative.

My husband had the starter plate which he said was lovely, I had the duck also tastes.

Our mains were not so good as other restaurants but in there defence, we could have chosen the wrong mains.

Glass of wine 90 dong which is good for Vietnam.

Hope this restaurant continues to train these lovely trainees who will be an asset to any business.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chunkyMONKEY52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Eating for a good cause”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The venue is excellent and the food was of good quality. The staff were also good, if not a bit tooooo attentive. It's off the street down an ally which might put a few off, but there is a security guard there and a member of staff in the ally so it is safe.
One thing I didn't like was a staff member advising patrons to rate it on TA. I think this is a bit poor form as it moves the intention of the staff to serve you because they want to learn and be good at what they do, do to just get points on TA.
Otherwise worth a night out. Dinner is slightly more expensive that most other eateries, but still pretty good value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank btandrmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went to a hidden gem in Saigon today. We had a delicious lunch at Koto Saigon, with beautiful smiling service from some class 3 students in a gorgeous outdoor eating area. We had the lovely new Koto tasting plate and i would definitely recommend having it as a starter! A must see attraction when in Saigon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Litteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Visited this venue with a Wendy Wu Trip. Excellent and well recommended plus a community project for street children.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dzerbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to KOTO Kumho - A Training Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing