We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, amazing staff, perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Ranked #9 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel, amazing staff, perfect location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Cinnamon hotel for 2 nights and it was a great experience!

When we arrived, we were greeted with refreshment drinks while we checked into our room.

The guys behind the reception desk were incredibly friendly and helpful, giving us recommendations on where to go and eat.

Our room was big, with a small balcony that overlooked the street below. The only downside to being at the top of the hotel, was that the hotel didn't have a lift so we had to walk up about 10 (relatively small) flights of stairs to get to our room. Being in a room on the uppermost level also meant that we had limited wifi so we had to go down to the lobby to use the internet on our phones.

The rooms were very clean, spacious and even had cinnamon sticks and towels folded into different shapes every day.

The hotel itself was about a 8min walk from the Ben Thanh Markets and was in a pretty good location - close enough to walk to the water & main streets, but far enough away that it wasn't incredibly congested or busy.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you're looking for a great place to stay for a relatively low price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    179
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
110
369
68
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in the Cinnamon for 3 nights, in February 2012. Upon arrival we were happily welcomed by manager Sony and his friendly, smiling, staff. They immediately provided us with a cold drink, cold towel, a citymap, as well as a "tour" of our very, atmospheric, pretty room with balcony. Also, a complimentary footmassage voucher was given as a welcomegift, how considerate!

Unfortunately, the first night, we woke up at around 05:30 because of traffic noises and roosters (despite of our earplugs). Sony arranged for another room at the back side of the hotel the next morning and we slept like babies afterwards! When we informed about the connection and speed of the internet, Sony came up to our room to help us out with getting an excellent internet connection.

The receptionstaff can also arrange any trip you would like to make, for the same price as for example Sinh Cafe, so there really is no need to stand in line at Sinh! They have a map available with a description of all of the trips you could book. We used this service for our transportation to Mui Ne.

All Cinnamon rooms are well equipped, with free Wifi, hairdryers, small fridge, big telly with international channels, lovely beds, bathrobes and bathtubs...sooo relaxing after a day of touring busy Ho Chi Minh city! The Benh Thanh market is a 10 minute walk from the hotel, as is the backpack area, with many restaurants, good coffeeshops and pubs.

Breakfast provides a good variety, since you can make a selection of 3 different things every day (fresh fruitjuice, pancake, sandwich, eggs any style, toast etc.).

What else can I say? Well, for a big unwelcoming city as Saigon, we felt really, sincerely, welcomed by all staffmembers of the Cinnamon! This, left us with a great impression of this place and we would certainly reccomend it to anyone visiting Saigon. But, they only have 10 rooms, so book wisely (in advance)....

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are prettier, but the ones at the back are much less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bo2Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great position for people watching. Breakfast a bit meagre and at times confusing- fried eggs not scrambled but we really liked this place. The staff were so helpful and small family feel a welcome change from the chaotic streets. Gratis foot/leg massages were so lovely after walking on concrete so long around city. Am sure their other massages would be great but we only stayed two nights and got bit busy touring around.

Room Tip: we had no balcony but it was lovely and quiet. Only about 8 rooms there in total I think so internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We booked 5 nights in the Cinnamon Hotel based on reviews we had read and we weren't disappointed. We had a room on the 6th floor and no, there isn't a lift, but we knew that from the outset and it wasn't a problem. The room had a lovely feel to it, wooden beams and floors, such a change from the normal hotel decor.

The staff were awseome, the lovely Sunny even glued the heel back on my sandals for me! Nothing was too much trouble for them, they just couldn't be more helpful.

I was fascinated by the "towel art" - each day we would return to find that our towels had been turned into some sort of sculpture - swans, turtles, giant hearts - it made my day!

Would definitely go back again and recommend that you give them a try (unless the thought of walking up a few stairs gives you a fit of the vapours!). We're in our 50s and managed just fine - the staff won't allow you to carry your own bags up anyway, they leap to your assistance.

Jim Pickering & Helen Crispin, Plymouth, Devon, UK

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Cinnamon Hotel is a cozy, homey nook in the middle of Saigon. The property is tucked away from the other clusters of tourist hotels and provides a little breather from the hustle and bustle of the big city and from the tourist-oriented shops that are the mainstay of many areas of District 1. But it is situated close enough to the most of the museums, sites and shops on the common tourist itinerary as to be convenient. Le Thi Rieng street and the general vicinity has at least the appearance of an area where people actually live, work and play – and there are many terrific street food spots, small restaurants and non-corporate stores just a stone’s throw away from the hotel.

The Cinnamon Hotel doesn’t have the feel of the impersonal, antiseptic mega-hotels; this is a hotel with character and heart. The rooms are warm and softly lit – with a more “organic” sensibility. The hotel holds no airs or pretensions. In other words, you would be more at home rolling out a yoga mat than unfurling a Prada dress. The challenging staircase that many contributors have noted may be a appropriate penance for overindulging in Saigon’s delicious cuisine, but may present a problem for some visitors.

But what truly makes this hotel an outstanding place to stay is the staff. Being a small hotel with just 10 rooms, the staff took the time to know each and every one of their guests, and did everything they could to ensure that they enjoyed their stay in Saigon. They truly go out of their way to take care of all the details of the myriad needs that arise when one is on the road. But their assistance never seemed like an effort – rather, that they took pleasure in being helpful and in making sure their guests were having a good trip. One might expect a few technical glitches in the first three months of the opening of a hotel, and some of those issues have been raised in other reviews, but during my rather lengthy recent stay I can only commend the staff for providing such an exemplary level of attention and care.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aegolius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

It was an OK stay but not as cracked up to be as other reviews. The breakfast was disappointing and boring but the staff were very friendly, capable and spoke good English.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I booked this hotel in advance - the rooftop suite for $86 a night. First - the rooftop suite is only one of two rooms and does not have a panoramic view as stated. The room was not very big and was very high up...with no elevator it was not pleasant to walk up in the heat and humidity. The room was pretty clean - but we had small bugs everywhere - on the night stand, on the dressers, all over! It was also very strange that the bathroom had a huge window overlooking the entire room. I was there with my friend so we had to spend extra time finding a way to cover the window. Back to the price ... I was pretty upset when I saw a couple walk in off of the street and they offered rooms for about $45. The people walked out and they literally followed them out into the street and gave them the room for $36!!! It was only a few floors lower than us. We stayed in MUCH better hotels for half the price.

The positives - Tony at the front desk was very friendly and very helpful and breakfast was delicious. I guess after visiting the price really brought this down for me, lack of elevator, bugs in the room.

Saigon is great though!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#3 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
Alagon d'Antique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Hotel Saigon

Property: Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Address: 74 Le Thi Rieng str | D1, Ho Chi Minh City 084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cinnamon Hotel Saigon 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go organic, stay at the Cinnamon Hotel!Cinnamon Hotel Saigon is centrally located in Ho Chi Min city, Vietnam at the corner of Ly Tu Trong, Lelai and Le Thi Rieng str, just a few feet away to Ben Thanh Market and few minutes away to Taodan botanic garden. Situated, as we are, in the heart of Saigon and just off Congly square, the Cinnamon Hotel Saigon is the idea hotel to stay whether you are on leisure or business trip to Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing