We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but worth it”
Review of Cap Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cap Town Hotel
Ranked #17 of 959 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

stayed there in December 2013 with my family and we stayed for 4 nights. the receptionist, Ann, was very nice plus her english is good and the bellboy was always available to carry our shopping begs to our room.there is a small table in front of the hotel and the bellboy always brought extra stools for us without being asked to so thats a plus point for them.

the rooms are smaller than most hotels but then most of the hotel in vietnam offered small size hotel rooms. the plus point is the sheets and the rooms are clean with adequate amenities (towels, toiletries and kettle).our floors are quite and we were able to sleep comfortably.for muslims, my parents's room overlooked a temple and it may cause some discomfort. other than that, the rooms are excellent. the breakfast is okay and nothing special to talk about. wifi connection is very fast up until my brothers room at the eighth floor.

location wise, it is very near to ben thanh market, 5 minutes walk. there's plenty of halal food and one is directly in front of the hotel. also located near massage/ spa centre, coffee shops and tour offices.as much as the coffee shops offers excellent place to sit and enjoy your coffee, the street vendor's coffee taste better and way cheaper.

in short, the hotel offered a very nice experience for a first time travellers to ho chi minh city.value for money and definitely would stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed only two nights at the start of our Vietnam trip. We found the Cap Town Hotel to be in an great city centre location, very close to many of the attractions. We stayed on the 3rd floor to the front and was almost silent. Bed was very confortable and room was clean with plenty of space. The bathroom was large with a shower big enough for two. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great for us, with both local and European buffet style choices. Good WiFi connection in room. Safe in room.
Well worth the 3 star status. Would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Cap Town Hotel in November near the end of our trip. The hotel is fairly clean, decent size room and a fabulous location. Only complaint in regards to the cleanliness is there is little bugs everywhere (and we were on the 8th floor), they were not bed bugs, not sure what they were, but they were quite prevalent.

Hot water in the shower came and went, but at least when it went cold it wasn't freezing cold, and it was always alternating, so the whole shower was never very cold, but something to note.

Overall it was a good experience and I would stay there again. The only thing that was a bad first impression, when we were checking in, a girl came in and stood beside us at the counter and looked just frazzled. The lady behind the counter asked if she could help her, and she stated that she had just been robbed and could she please call the police. The staff member replied "oh well the police office is just around the corner" and after a long pause, and the girl looked like she was going to burst out crying, the staff member followed up with "I can take you there", it just didn't seem like a very sympathetic response... not the greatest first impression, however for myself, we had no bad experiences and staff was always good to us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We are group of six stayed 2 nights with 3 rooms during our last stop at Vietnam. I've nothing much to complaint this hotel because the staff were friendly and the rooms very comfortable especially the mattress. We've deluxe city view rooms (unfortunately not connecting) attach bathroom comes with jacuzzi, rooms were spacious, wifi connection very good. Something shocked me was the bathroom door unable to lock, after check with receptionist this problem they politely replied all bathroom door were unable to lock. Sound weird but it's true.

We booked a tour to Mekong floating market with reasonable rate, very memorable tour and not forget too to thanks for receptionist recommendation. Breakfast was included, choices limited but delicious. This hotel chef culinary skills better than some of 5 stars hotel i stayed before. Short walk to Ben Thanh Market, shopping center, Starbuck n others tourist destination should be another added point when choosing this hotel.

Night shift bellboy very nice & friendly. He arranged table & seat @ sidewalk for us and help us ordered beers n soft drinks during our stayed. I've a suggestion to management perhaps to setup a sidewalk cafe in front your hotel, b'coz most tourist please to sit in sidewalk to drink and watch the busy & hustle city life.

One of receptionist can speak well in Chinese. She assist us to extend half day stayed wth minimal charged due to our departure flight at evening. My stayed here was good, i would like to stay here again because the staff were attentive, great location, mouth-watering b/fast, good wifi connection and one thing to mention here was great coffee I've tasted in my life made available just outside this hotel only cost 8000 Dong per cup.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leeking1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Cap Town for 3 nights in HCM, left for Dalat and Mui Ne and came back for a night. I must mention that rarely does the photos at the hotel's website of the hotel rooms genuinely reflect the current condition of the room, but Cap Town is a wonderful exception. We booked the Superior for all 4 nights but were upgraded to their Luxury room.

The room and bathroom are clean and spacious. The breakfast is good but most importantly the location is fantastic. Just a 5-10 mins walk from Ben Thanh market. 15 mins walk to Water Puppet Theatre and 15-20 mins to the city attractions (Notre Dame Cathedral, General Post Office).

The hotel faces a quiet street so you get sleep late if you want to (though most tours starts early at 7 or 8 am).

The day time lady receptionists are very friendly and helpful but at night the male receptionist seems disinterested in answering our queries.

Overall, great hotel at a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I visit HCMC several times a year. Cap Town Hotel has become one of our favored hotels. At the moment of arrival, we're greeted by a very friendly hotel staff. Their graciousness and hospitality continues on throughout our entire stay (5 days in our most recent trip). The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. They provide a breakfast with coffee which is a good way to start the day. Location in District 1, and very convenient for us .. we have walked or taken a motorbike to very place we wish to visit. The hotel does arrange a motorbike for those who wish to use one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HealeyWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapTownHotel, Director of Sales at Cap Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Bill
Warmest greetings from Cap Town Hotel
Thank you for your best comment. We vary happy when you enjoy at our hotel. we'd like see you next time.

Best Regards
Ms. Vuong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed two nights and enjoyed our time. The location is great, within walking distance of all attractions and restaurants in District 1. The room was very clean and spacious, the shower was amazing, and the bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was included and was okay. Staff was helpful and friendly! Great coffee place right on the corner and a Circle K convenience store about a two minute walk away. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapTownHotel, Director of Sales at Cap Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Value Guest
Warmest Greetings From Cap Town Hotel.
First of all, on behafl of Cap Town Hotel. I'd like to say thank you for your best comment. We very happy when you feel satisfy with our service. I hope see you again.

Best Regards
Ms. Vuong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#56 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#89 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#9 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#44 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Town Hotel

Address: 28-30 Le Anh Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $44 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cap Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your days in wonderful Saigon - Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam and feel like being at home whether you are on vacation or business trip at the 3 star Cap Town Saigon Hotel. Our 40-room boutique hotel near Ben Thanh market provides charming, cozy and warm atmosphere. Most of rooms have city view and soundproofing glass so guest can watch the street comfortably and escape from the noise outside after a long day trip. This boutique hotel in Saigon would be a perfect choice for travelers, businessmen and even most demanding guest. You are promised a complete satisfaction by our very professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cap Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing