We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Budget Hotel in the Backpackers' Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Europe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saigon Europe Hotel
Ranked #85 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,022 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,364 helpful votes
“Beautiful Budget Hotel in the Backpackers' Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed at Saigon Europe Hotel with my sister during our visit to Ho Chi Minh City. This hotel is located in the popular backpackers' area in District 1 where all the action is happening. There are plenty of restaurants, coffeeshops, tour and bus companies, and night clubs nearby. The reception floor is at the first floor, same with the elevator. There is also a tour desk ready to assist in planning and booking tours, tickets, and other related activities. All the people in this hotel are warm, friendly and helpful.

We instantly felt their warm welcome by giving us a free room upgrade from Standard to Superior. The room we got was small but good enough to be able to move around comfortably. There was a desktop PC with internet connection inside the room and Wi-Fi as well so we were able to go online at the same time since I brought along my laptop. Toilet and bathroom was neat and clean. The floor tiles were shining, walls were newly painted, hence giving the impression that Saigon Europe Hotel is a relatively new property.

The complimentary breakfast though not buffet was adequate and filling. The restaurant and kitchen staff were very attentive and ready whenever we needed anything like re-fill of coffee, juice, etc.

Their tour desk arranged our full day tour to Cao Dai Cathedral and Cu Chi Tunnels for a reasonable price and the services of the tour company was excellent. They also arranged our transport to the airport on our departure day for a minimal price.

We requested for a late check-out and was allowed to stay until 5pm but for halfprice of the daily rate. When we were checking out at 5pm they allowed us to stay until 8pm free of charge since the room was still available and we were leaving for our flight to Manila past midnight.

We were absolutely impressed with the excellent customer service we got from the hotel staff. We will definitely book again in this hotel when we return to Ho Chi Minh City.
Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at higher floors for a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    177
    66
    10
    13
See reviews for
66
181
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Although some rooms have no windows, the cool and quiet is a welcome respite from the hectic pace of Ho Chi Minh. There are great amenities, with comfortable beds, computer, TV, bath, kettle, safe and hairdryer. The price is very low and the staff are amazingly friendly and very genuine. Breakfast is average, but free, and cheap food is available in abundance in the backpacker area the hotel is situated in. Great location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gettinthere4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is great. Perfect location and wonderful staff. I stayed here in December 2012 and again December 2013 - i thought why try somewhere else and risk getting a crappy hotel when I've been here and know its great. The staff are great and Trung on the front door is a lovely guy. He remembered me from my previous stay 12 months earlier and after finishing work one night he took my friend and I for a walk around the city, to a great place for dinner, and to look at all the christmas lights as we were there for christmas. We even had a christmas present from the hotel left on our bed.
I will most definitely stay here again on my next trip. Hopefully the chickens on the roof at the back of the hotel/next door die between now and then haha

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who were willing to assist in anyway as well as share a laugh or two. We had a triple room on the 5th floor. It was large, clean and quiet. The location was excellent and in walking distance to markets and major attractions. Tours could also be booked at reception. Breakfast offered both Asian and Western cuisine. We would not hesitate to stay at Saigon Europe if ever in Ho Chi Minh again. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were staying there for three nights and we really enjoyed. Modern clean hotel with very friendly and supportive staff. Just in middle of the backpacker's area surrounded by restaurants, bars, shops, travel agencies and wellness centres.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Saigon Europe for two days and have to say the place was excellent. The hotel is perfectly located and the staff are very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Would use this place again for sure

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and myself stayed here for 2 nights 31st December and 1st January 2014.We stayed in the deluxe twin room. It was a little over $50 per night.The room was very clean and comfortable and was great value for the price.It is located in District 1 Ho Chi Minh city where there is lots of nightlife and thing to see.The room was quiet being at the back of the hotel with 2 large comfortable beds and a large flat screen television. The hotel staff were absolutely the best staff in any hotel i have stayed in always had a smile and worked long hours and were very helpful.

Room Tip: Deluxe room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#47 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#73 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#40 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#115 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Europe Hotel

Property: Saigon Europe Hotel
Address: 207 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Europe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Europe Hotel is located in the famous tourist area of Pham Ngu Lao backpackers area. We are about 20 minutes from Tan San Nhat international airport, 10 minutes from Saigon train station and 5 minutes from the famous Ben Thanh Markets. It’s walking distance to the Ben Thanh Market as well as a number of great restaurants, bars and numerous shops and shopping centers as well as good public transportation and tour operators.Saigon Europe Hostel has 26 spacious rooms that are elegantly designed with modern facilities and elevator which provide for a comfortable stay. Stay at your home in Saigon with European standard during your holiday to Hochiminh city – Vietnam. We await your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Saigon Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing