We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel in the heart of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saigon Europe Hotel
Ranked #96 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Clean hotel in the heart of the action”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel's primary advantage is its location; right in the heart of Saigon's tourist entertainment area in District 1. Just steps away from numerous bars, clubs and restaurants, and a short walk to Ben Thanh central market, it was a handy starting point for experiencing Saigon's sights. The hotel is also affordable, clean, and with a friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The larger room with twin beds is an interior room with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 415traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    177
    67
    10
    14
See reviews for
66
184
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

What we enjoyed most about Saigon Europe are the extremely diligent female cleaners, who went the extra mile, to ensure all the debris including hairs on the floor are removed thoroughly with their brooms. Kudos to the male bellboys/porters are also extremely helpful with our bulky luggage on our check in and out. Ms Ly was most obliging with help with booking of CuChi Tunnel( a must visit, v educational !!) and HCM city tours with TNK Travel agency just across the road.

Room Tip: Indeed like all other previous TA reviewers have warned, request and insist on a room on high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice over the course of a week in two different rooms.

One night we stayed on the ground floor in a room directly behind reception - this room had no outside windows (i knew this when i booked - we arrived late at night and left early the next morning so we just needed somewhere to sleep). The room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and good shower. There was a bit of noise from people coming and going in reception. The most annoying thing about this room is there was a small window opening onto the corridor - the light was on in the corridor all night and therefore this lit up the room (i need a room to be very dark in order to sleep)

The second room which we had a few days later was in the 5th floor. Very large, spotless, 2 double beds and very quiet, No complaints at all.

The second room cost more than the first so you do get what you pay for (though both rooms were well furnished and very clean)

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was better than expected with various Vietnamese dishes each day as well as the usual "egg" options. The spring rolls in particular were very nice.

We chose this hotel as we had pre-arranged a number of transfers and tours using the Sinh Tourist company. The office for the Sinh Tourist was literally opposite the hotel (and this is where the tour coaches left from) and therefore the hotel was ideally placed for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We originally had booked a room in Beautiful Saigon 3 and a pick up service from the airport. Pick up went well and was in time but the driver took us to Saigon Europe telling us that Beautiful Saigon 3 was full(!). Since we had already traveled for 20 hours by planes with our 1 and 2 year old children, we were just happy to get a room. We found out that Beautiful Saigon 3 hotel is in the same block, just behind the corner. We had booked a deluxe room and they said this new room was even spacier. It was a nice room in the back of the building on the third floor. Very clean and modern, A/C, computer, tv, minibar, bathroom with a bathtub, nice hot water, no complaints whatsoever. Wifi didn't work first, but we complained once and twice and they sent someone to show it works and then it started to work.
Location is really nice, nice cafes and bars around. We were glad our room was in the back cause we could still hear Hotel California and La bamba thru... :) So the streets are quite noisy in the evenings and nights.
Staff was very friendly and instantly love with our children. :)
The hotel had an elevator, but from the first floor, not the ground floor, so we had to carry our stroller every time. This was no problem since the staff was really eager to help.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annikahoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of the backpacker area of District 1, so it's very easy to get around on foot, just about a 5-10 min walk from the Ben Tanh markets and from there, a few more minutes to the Opera House.

This wasn't a problem for us, but for anyone who has bad knees or issues with steps, the lift doesn't go completely to the bottom floor, so you will have to climb a short flight of stairs before you reach the reception area.

We had initially booked a standard twin room but this room was very small, had a strong musty odour (which we believe came from the shower curtain in the bathroom which had no ventilation or exhaust) and on top of that, when we opened the wardrobe and bar fridge a very strong smell of durian was present. We asked for a room upgrade that evening but we really understand the man at reception at the time - he was saying that it would cost us approx $40 to upgrade that evening, or $50 to upgrade the next evening. We couldn't work out whether this was per night, or for the length of our stay.

We waited until the next day when the lady (who speaks excellent English and who is also an agent for TNK travel) had returned to reception and, after sending a bellboy to empty a can of air freshener into the wardrobe - which caused us to choke, despite us asking him repeatedly to stop - and then asking us several times whether we ourselves had brought the fruit into the room to eat and store in the bar fridge, finally arranged for us to be transferred to a deluxe room for an extra USD$15 per night.

The deluxe twin room is much larger than the standard double and it was much more comfortable, less cramped and the musty smell wasn't as strong.

Aside from the above initial hiccup, the room was quiet, the aircon worked, the beds were made and room cleaned every day (though water wasn't replaced) and the breakfast was fine, though we preferred to eat on the street. The internet was very slow, though and frequently dropped out.

On the morning we were due to leave, I was reminded that we were due to check out that day, even though their own policy states checkout to be at 12pm, some 4 hours later. Then at about 10.30am we lost all power to the room. Housekeeping gave us a lamp, which was not so helpful as we were trying to keep cool!

All in all I would rather try other hotels before staying there again, though it was well located, the facilities were clean and modern and in the end our issue was addressed (though we were not offered a free upgrade, simply a $5 discount). I just felt like we were unfairly blamed for the room issue, even after the bellboy acknowledged that there was a definite smell. If we had brought the fruit in ourselves, surely we would have had no cause to complain about it!

One thing I would really recommend is the half day Cu Chi tour we booked through the TNK travel agent. It was well worth it and the best USD$7 we spent in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here. Like what everyone else says, the location is good. Great restaurants, pubs and bars within walking distance. You can take a walk to town too (about 15-30 mins pending on location). The street come alive at night so no need to worry about late night drinks. Next door, there is an awesome pub with a rock band playing which I really enjoyed! Breakfast here was so-so. If you have the budget, just take a walk downstairs to one of the restaurants nearby.

International power plugs available in rooms. There’s a computer and a TV. Free Wifi did help a little although the speed was a little slow. Also there are convenient stores nearby.

The hotel also provides tour packages which are worth looking into. The pickup area is just opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: We got a middle room with no window. Everything’s okay except for a funny smell whenever we open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was exactly what we hoped it would be. Clean, well located and friendly.

We had a deluxe room ($47 p/night) and it was money well spent. The rate included breakfast, free Internet on a PC in our room and a fruit platter. There were two queen beds (unexpected - the room was so huge though it didn't look out of place at all!). The bathroom was very good, very clean and no issues. The only annoying this was a window in the room that looked into the hotel - kept the room light all night. Noise was the street was minimal as we had a rear room.

The staff are lovely and so helpful. One day we decided to have a massage and within ten minutes of asking where was good we were in a taxi they'd organized and on our way to what was a very good massage!

Oh and a top tip: 'Ben' restaurant across the road is amazing! Lovely food and cheap.

We enjoyed our stay so much we returned for one night at the end of our trip! Definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaMelbourne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#57 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#78 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#46 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#132 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#72 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#26 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Europe Hotel

Property: Saigon Europe Hotel
Address: 207 De Tham Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Saigon Europe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saigon Europe Hotel is located in the famous tourist area of Pham Ngu Lao backpackers area. We are about 20 minutes from Tan San Nhat international airport, 10 minutes from Saigon train station and 5 minutes from the famous Ben Thanh Markets. It’s walking distance to the Ben Thanh Market as well as a number of great restaurants, bars and numerous shops and shopping centers as well as good public transportation and tour operators.Saigon Europe Hostel has 26 spacious rooms that are elegantly designed with modern facilities and elevator which provide for a comfortable stay. Stay at your home in Saigon with European standard during your holiday to Hochiminh city – Vietnam. We await your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saigon Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing