We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of little nooks to explore”

Pham Ngu Lao Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Ho Chi Minh City Half-Day History and Food Tour by Motorbike
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of little nooks to explore”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This area represents lots of different travellers. There are many eateries and bars, as well as a range of travel agents. We were able to choose a tour to the Mekong that was extremely inexpensive and fitted in with our timing perfectly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 233mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    512
    305
    61
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice street”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The street was filled with happenings and vietnamese people doing their usual things. And me doing my usual thing when I travel in Viet Nam. Which would be enjoying my self because I'm on Vacation

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always something”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

There is always something to do on this street/in this area and always people to meet and talk to. The park is good fun as well watching the locals (and tourists on occasion) playing with jianzis with incredible skill I might add. Only problem with this area is that everything is pretty expensive in comparison and you have to remain vigilant - watch out for theft.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeanAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little busy!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This street is really crazy!! But we loved it still - lots of good energy and tons of vietnamese wanting to befriend you! I think its authentic. They love europeans.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TJustinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back packer central”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

It is what it is, weather you like it or not it is what its meant to be.
Weather I like it is not important but rather just describing it in its entirety!
i consider Pham Ngu Lao a square block comprising of Bui Vien and its lane ways to join the two. Its completely full to the brim with hostels/ guest houses, back packers, cheap eats as well as cheap alcohol bars, bar girls/ prostitutes ,taxis , cyclos, cockroaches ,souvenir shops and cheap clothes/ bag shops, sun glass sellers , tour operators and of course scammers of varying degrees and drug pushers offering "anything you want!"

Just like khao Sarn road of Bangkok but I would say more lively and or bigger when you consider it a block. Pham Ngu Lao's Park is fairly good with people exercising at night and and just the Vietnamese just hanging out and runs right through to Ben Tanh market and provides a bit of solitude and quietness from the manic hustle and bustle of the "Block"

Its a place you will either love or loathe! ..probably not a place you would stay with your family but im sure the area has a few nice hotels to stay even though there are alot of dives here to!

A seedy little area that provides back packers everything that they may require!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fried_Noodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pham Ngu Lao Street also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Pham Ngu Lao Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing