We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction and quite exciting”

Back of the Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Motorbikes and Vietnamese Street Food, what more can you ask for? Here at Back Of The Bike we have been, tasting, researching, and recording all of the best street food in Ho Chi Minh City. We offer you the chance to experience Saigon comfortably and safely on the back of our bikes. Our local, knowledgable and English speaking guides offer you the chance to indulge yourself in our favorite spots for a truly cultural immersive experience.
Reviewed December 8, 2014

I have to say I was a little apprehensive about riding on the back of a motor cycle but I am now converted. I never felt in any danger and felt safe the entire day. I would certainly recommend this tour and had a great time. It was a good, comprehensive insight into the entire city and I feel I saw all there was to see and more. There were a number of photo stops and we also stopped for a drink and a walk around the market in Chinatown trying out lots of different fruit. We also stopped at a street vendor for a snack which was delicious and fun - We had such a laugh and a joke with the woman who was preparing the meal and it was all done in good high spirits. The tour consisted of just me so I don't know how different it would be in a bigger group. The tour guide is accompanied by a second rider who takes photographs the entire time. These are then e mailed to you a few days later. I have them but have difficulty opening them so I will only be able to comment on their quality when I get home. Skip the boring tour bus and try this out.

1  Thank rob50Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrick W, General Manager at Back of the Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Hello Rob50Uk,

Happy to hear that you have been converted to travelling via back of the bike :)

Thank you very much for your review of our Afternoon City Tour.

The lady you are referring to is Ms. Phuong, our Bun Thit Nuong vendor. Quite possibly one of our favorite people of all time.

She is still working hard everyday at 52 years old but is always filled with laughter and a good time.

We wanted to apologize for your not being able to access your photo's from your device.

Since our upload speed here at our office seems to be a bit slower than other parts of Ho Chi Minh City, we are required to place all of our photos into a .zip file to be able to get them uploaded.

This can be accessed by downloading a zip extractor application or using the extractor on your personal computer.

Thanks for choosing Back of the Bike Tours during your trip here to Vietnam.

If you need anything else in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.

-Back of the Bike Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"street food"
in 237 reviews
"food tour"
in 218 reviews
"green papaya salad"
in 24 reviews
"crab soup"
in 42 reviews
"city tour"
in 115 reviews
"food was amazing"
in 65 reviews
"crazy traffic"
in 68 reviews
"food stops"
in 53 reviews
"great fun"
in 96 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 71 reviews
"felt very safe"
in 69 reviews
"saigon traffic"
in 50 reviews
"night tour"
in 73 reviews
"four hours"
in 29 reviews
"vietnamese food"
in 60 reviews
"banh xeo"
in 25 reviews
"pancakes"
in 30 reviews
Filter

1,757 - 1,761 of 2,437 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2014

Street and street foods are one of the best way to catch the soul of Saigon. But as foreigner, it is also a long journey of trap. They bring us to places with the food is good and safe with no bad surprise. It is very well organized and the students who are the tour guides are very friendly.

I live in Saigon since 6 years and I rediscover some places of the town I live and love. It is probably a little over priced for Vietnam but people who are here for a first visit, it is a good investment to do.

Thank JeffHCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrick W, General Manager at Back of the Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Hello JeffHCMC,

We are happy that you found your experience with us to be fun, organized, and a chance to rediscover places in Ho Chi Minh City where you have lived for 6 years.

Thank you for recommending us to future guests traveling here to Ho Chi Minh City. We appreciate it very much :)

We are sorry to hear that you thought our price was high for Vietnam.

We wanted to elaborate that our company is a 100% legal tour company that operates within every regulation of the law. Which includes taxes, insurance (Team Members and guests), a license from the Vietnamese government to provide tours to travelers, and a few other policies that we have to meet.

Also that we have over 30 highly trained English speaking team members who work with us helping to provide a seamless as possible tour experience for our customers.

We know that this raises the prices we have to charge for the tour but we feel that it is worth it for our customers to know that they are in safe hands when they choose to experience the thrills of Ho Chi Minh City with Back of the Bike Tours.

Thanks so much for rediscovering parts of Ho Chi Minh City with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

-Back of the Bike Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2014

My dad and I went on a street-food Ttour and it just was so much fun! The food was really tasty, as the drinks. The tour guides were super friendly and always asking questions about where we came from, our different cultures and so on, there was no awkward silence, just friendly people around the table This tour is awesome if you'd like to try as much vietnamese street-food as possible.The staff also let us take pictures on the motorbike or cook some of the food, which make for awesome shot. What's even better is that they send all the pictures of the tour by email only a few days after the tour, very handy! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to try vietnamese street-food but doesn't know where to find the right places.

1  Thank Clementrdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2014

We were recommended the night time, street food tour by friends and now want to pass the recommendation onto you! This is such a unique way to experience HCMC. To ride through Saigon at night on the back of a scooter is amazing in itself and we would have paid to do this alone. But to then get to eat fantastic street food, at great stalls with super friendly locals was the icing on the cake. Our guides were so knowledgable and we were well taken care of. Thank you Thuy, Ha & team!

Thank denandiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2014

No doubt this is a very good tour company. They take you to very local spots like parks, small outdoor food stands and restaurants. All the food was very tasty and there was plenty of it. Why the average ranking then? Mainly because my husband and I cannot reconcile where the high price of the tour goes. From our estimates, the food on the tour costs at most $15-$20 per person and both our drivers told us that they were paid a bit less than 200,000 dong per day. At $64 each, this tour is much too expensive. I guess we were expecting the food to be more upscale based on the website description that the tours are run by chefs. I would still recommend the tour however it's overpriced.

1  Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrick W, General Manager at Back of the Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Hello Marion,

Thank you for leaving a review and recommending us to future guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and thank you very much for choosing us to show you Ho Chi Minh City and its street food.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the tour was overpriced besides food cost and drivers please don't forget that on your tour is a tour leader and support team :)

Plus you are covered on our $5,000 Accident Insurance.

Apologies, we do our very best to ensure that all guests know that our tour is a street food tour even though it is owned professional chefs.

We did want to take time to mention a few inaccuriacies about our costs in your review for future guests.

1.We pay our staff quite well which is why we have been able to retain so many staff for so long.

Plus they love the job and our guests :)

Also not all staff are paid the same, there are part time, full time, leaders and managers. Also raises and bonuses that happen for all of our staff over time, like in most companies.

2. There are a few costs that guests can not see that go beyond just driver salaries and food cost.

We employee over 30 employees from secretaries, tour managers, tour leaders, and a support/security team.

As a company we invest in insurance, taxes, Government tour licenses, website construction and maintenance, payment fees, quailty helmets, uniforms, marketing, and as you can imagine this list goes on.

We do our part legally here in Vietnam to operate as a 100% licensed and legal tour company, which costs extra but this is the only way we can ensure the safety of every customer who goes on our tour.

We do understand that there are cheaper options out there but when traveling we feel that you should go with a name you can trust.

Thanks to all of the support over these last years from our guests and also from our top notch staff who have helped us to create that reputation.

Thank you so much for choosing us and we hope to see you again in the future.

-Back of the Bike Tours Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back of the Bike Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Back of the Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing