We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we did this!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back of the Bike Tours

Back of the Bike Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Motorbikes and Vietnamese Street Food, what more can you ask for? Here at Back Of The Bike we have been, tasting, researching, and recording all of the best street food in Ho Chi Minh City. We offer you the chance to experience Saigon comfortably and safely on the back of our bikes. Our local, knowledgable and English speaking guides offer you the chance to indulge yourself in our favorite spots for a truly cultural immersive experience.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So glad we did this!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a fantastic tour and introduction to this amazing city! Thuy and her team were fantastic and we learned so much from them about the city, the history and life in Vietnam. Knowing that the traffic is crazy in Ho Chi Minh we were a tad bit apprehensive but we all felt very safe during the entire tour. Our drink and food stops were authentic and great! And I cannot beleive how much of the city we saw in 3.5 hours!!! It was the perfect way to spend our first day in Ho Chi Mihn! I highly recommend this a "must do" for anyone's first trip to this city

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MZ6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,615
    53
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun. Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I wish that I did this on my first day, not my last. The food places were out of the way, and were very memorable. The papaya salad with the beef jerky was amazing. The tour leader, Thanh, was informative and fun. Was also different and interesting to go to parts of the city where tourists don't normally go. The locals were most curious with having westerners in their neighbourhood. Would definitely recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of Saigon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great Tour around the city! Thank you very much for that experince and showing us the different views of the city and the great food of course ;-) Also for the safe driving and the good explanations of everything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloWorld0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So excellent we did it twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked the morning city tour as an intro to HCM and as a new year treat after budgeting hard for months and it was best dong spent. With a group age range of 27-52 and no bike experience the team put us at ease straight away. The tour was great, each rider so informative when we all compared notes after and realised how much we gained. We tried fruits n drinks along the way that helped us choose when we struck out on our own. At each stop all the team members made a massive effort to chat and were genuinely interested in us as we were them. Thuy and chad then made a huge effort to get us on a tour the following day (at our request). The food tour was just as good, lots and lots of food to try and even with a different mix of drivers a great time was had! It just feels like an evening out with a group of friends chatting, laughing and eating! If your considering it do it! The bike experience is great and never feels dangerous even though the traffic is crazy! Queen, Dung, Kareoke King and all the red t shirt wearing team are great and it was a pleasure to spend time with them. If we came back we would do it again and have already recommended it to others!

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I decided to book the tour because of the positive reviews in this site. My wife and I join the tour in the morning of Boxing day. They arrived to pick us up punctually. We are the only participants in that morning. We had great time to ride through the local places in Saigon and try the local food, which is delicious. I espectially like the atmosphere in District 7. We are a bit nervous in the bike but it's really safe. Chad, thanks for good service from your team and you!! My advise is to join this tour in the beginning of your trip in Saigon as you can ask all kinds of questions and get good advices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back of the Bike Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Back of the Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing