We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best place in Ho Chi Minh city to enjoy Indian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baba's Kitchen

Baba's Kitchen
Ranked #6 of 3,109 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Saigon's favorite Indian restaurant!
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best place in Ho Chi Minh city to enjoy Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am living in Ho Chi Minh since around 1 year, I have been here many times with my friends,I feel like the real Indian fodd. It's also not expensive, It worth the price. I have tried many different kind of dishes, most of them are nice.Service is also good. I like the taste of Samosa here, Of course it's size is small as compare to India .:P.I'll recommend this to enjoy the Indian food in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank himanshu_rajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    488
    135
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here looking for a break from Vietnamese food. Located right in the backpacker area, easy to find. Service was pretty good, if a little slow. Atmosphere was ok, nice and clean. Price was ok, around $6-8 for for curry, rice and naan. Most importantly, the food was delicious, especially the naan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Baba's was recommended to me by a local in Ho Chi Minh and I'm very glad I asked. Great food, very good service. The owner was very attentive and made time for a chat with me and my friend. Excellent location as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey_Swendig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No need to sample the competition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have resided in HCMC for two plus years. During this time we have sampled all of the Indian restaurants and Babas wins hands down. We eat in, or order takeaways once a week.
The owner, Robin, is always on-site overseeing his competent staff.
The meals are cheap and are delivered quickly. Wine and beer is available equally inexpensively. Should downstairs appear full, there is an upstairs area including two tables outdoors overlooking the interesting street of Bui Vien.
If your accommodation is in the area of the Caravelle, Park Hyatt, Intercontinental, Grand etc, you only have a ten minute cab journey costing a couple of dollars in order to get there.
Preferring veg food, our favourite dishes include both yellow and black dhal, aloo jeera and aloo ghobi. Chicken hyderabad is also stunning. There is a large choice of naan.
A Tip. If you like a hot curry, order medium at Babas. Flavoursome and perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saafi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seiously, what is everyone is raving about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Look, if you're looking for a dive indian joint...this place is for you.

I dont mind the decor, so much as the lack of flavor with the dishes. Very bland...

We had 5 different things, because hey, its cheap why not?

1. chicken shaslik was pretty good
2. Fish curry was wattery and awful
3. Vindaloo also lacking flavor
4. Dal was basically lentils floating in yellow water
5. Chicken chidella (?) Spicy, but lacking flavor

Anyway, might be good for vietnam, but if you have limited nights to explore the culinary delights of Saigon, I'd give it a miss.

Dont say I didnt tell you...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rocketman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba's Kitchen also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Baba's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing