We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Roast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bread & Butter

Bread & Butter
Ranked #660 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Bar, British, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Tel: 3836 8452.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pretty good little roast, lacks veg though, and is only available for a couple of hours. Sells Houda beer, one of the only places around that does, if that's your thing. Owner is a nice guy, its down a fairly quiet alley and is a nice place to sit and have a quiet chat and a meal if thats what you're after.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DaPangLouhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Murchison, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast Beef with all the trimmings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off for the Sunday roast 169,000VND.

The meal was amazing with fresh cauliflower, green beans, broccoli, zucchini and carrots and a hearty serving of roast beef (cooked rare) and even Yorkshire pudding.

Bread and butter well done and thank you.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best buger in HCMC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Small and friendly bar.

Sit at the counter and talk to the owner and bar staff.

Mix with like minded travelers.

100% too easy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellamycmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Burgers and Huda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Go in for a chicken or beef burger and a couple of huda beers. That's it. You usually have to clamber up the tiny staircase to get a seat upstairs, definitely not a fancy place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfort food and a book exchange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were craving some western comfort food so we visited Bread and Butter, which was conveniently located across the alleyway from our hotel, Beautiful Saigon 3. Bread and Butter serves typical pub meals, which was exactly what we were craving! I had the fish and chips and my husband had the cheeseburger - both were great. As an added bonus, Bread and Butter also features an English book exchange. I thoroughly recommend Bread and Butter to any western travelers seeking some comfort food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LimaJuliet_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread & Butter also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Bread & Butter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing