We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm”
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in January and the hotel is just what you need in a hectic and hot city. It is an oasis of calm as soon as you leave the busy street and step into the cool spacious reception area. Our room on the 19th floor had a wonderful city view and we watched the New Year fireworks from the comfort of our room. The room itself is spacious and very comfortable with a large desk for working at.

The shuttle into various points of interest around the city is great although the return times are hit and miss - you really need to be there 20 mins before the advertised time as I missed it a few times - i was 10 minutes early and waited until at least 15 minutes after the scheduled time. Taxis are so cheap and plentiful however, this isn't much of a problem.

The ladies and gentlemen who clean the rooms are excellent, friendly and pay attention to detail. One arranged for a sliding door to be fixed that we hadn't even realised was broken.

Breakfast is very good and the selection is vast. The chinese restaurant is extremely good and the restaurant manager very friendly and helpful. We also ate in the lounge a couple of times which has good simple food and cocktails and the pianist is a nice touch in the evening.

The only slight letdown was the pool - it's a lovely space but unheated and is quite a shock when you get in from the intense heat. Just watch peoples faces getting in! There is drinks service here but never seems to be anyone at the bar serving. Some more proactive service here would be nice. Also, this is a really nice spot to sit of an evening and have a glass of wine or cocktail outside, listening to the city sounds and watching the bats flying around but it closes at 9pm and actually the chair covers are often put away well before it is due to close.

Finally the concierge was brilliant - we had a tour company cancel on us at the last minute and at gone 8pm it took him about 5 minutes to sort us out a private tour for the following morning - which was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the main city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smudgesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,426
    636
    102
    35
    30
See reviews for
630
1,349
203
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked as a mystery hotel and it was brilliant. After being so good we booked at Nikko Hotel Hanoi but that wasn't nearly as good.
The staff , the rooms, the pool were great and it has the best breakfast ever!! It was on the outer part of District 1 but this made it more accessible to the "real city". We stayed in central HCMC later in our trip and wished we had returned to Nikko Hotel Saigon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 610Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed for one night initially, prior to a short tour of the Mekong, but liked it so much came back for a second night before flying home. Paid a little extra for the Club facilities and took full advantage of these - great afternoon tea and pre-dinner canapes with wine and beer - all beautifully prepared and presented. The whole hotel is slick and ultra modern with highly efficient service throughout. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Club rooms are on the highest floors and offer great views of the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here 4 nights on a business trip to Ho Chi Minh.

I got superior room number 2022 on the 20th floor with an amazing and breathtaking view over the city.

Besides the great highlights of the hotel such as location, design, cleanliness, staff and the atmosphere of a great 5 star hotel, I was absolutely amazed by the unbelievable sense of details found in this hotel. From the position of the towels or toiled paper till the place of the pencil on the desk everything was just arranged and created perfectly, only and especially for your supreme comfort. It is clear that only a japanese chain of hotels can reach such a magnificent sense of details.

Breakfast diversity was the greatest I have ever had into a 5 star hotel and the staff just wonderful, very helpful and polite.

I'm not a hotel enthusiastic, but the scent of this hotel is unbelievable sensitive and romantic, making it the most wonderful hotel I have ever been.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreiFilipache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Would be hard to find a hotel with better rooms/breakfast/gym/pool/jacuzzi at such a great value.
Club lounge not worth upgrading to though, as the lounge is mostly just an eating area and the food selection limited.
Plan on taking taxis to get around the city.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend club rooms, not a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I arrived at the hotel early morning after arriving from Dalat. I did a quick internet booking from my cellphone through booking.com for my friends arriving later and myself. Everything was handled good and due to some issues with my room. I got upgraded to a suite that was very appreciated so I could check in early.

I tend not to eat at hotels so can't give any view about that. The bar/pool service was excellent and I enjoyed the size and contents of my minibar. Very good quality room in all aspects and clean. Will definetely consider to stay here again if I'm in Saigon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were very surprised about Saigon or Ho Chi Minh City. A very "new" city with trendy bars, roofterraces, skybars, restaurants, shops and so much more.
Nikko Saigon is a new built hotel just outside the heart of the city. But only 10 minutes away from it by taxi. Great place to stay. Very nice, modern and spacious rooms. Amazing breakfast. Very helpfull, young and friendly staff.
Really a big luxury city-hotel.
At this moment the best in his category in town.
If you are in touch with the colonial city and want to stay in a colonial hotel, you have to look out for another place (Rex, Majestic...), but in all other cases : this is the place for a quiet, luxury stay, with excellent western and asian food just some minutes away from the old city-center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guyvangent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Nikko_Saigon, Manager at Hotel Nikko Saigon, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It’s such a pleasure to hear that you were able to enjoy all the services of Hotel Nikko Saigon.

We love ensuring that our guests have special memories to take home with them and know that every little extra touch that we provide makes a difference. Thank you for your comments on the location, room, breakfast and staff. We are very happy to be considered as a great place to stay.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

For and on behalf of the Management
Executive Office
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre
Pullman Saigon Centre
#11 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#13 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Property: Hotel Nikko Saigon
Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE STAR RELAXATION IN HO CHI MINH CITY MODERN * STYLISH * SPACIOUS ROOMS * MINIMALIST DESIGN * Known for its High reputation in Staff Excellence. * Just 20 minutes by car from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. * Peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. * Best Buffet Breakfast serving the widest selection of breakfast food items. * Most talked about La Brasserie Seafood Dinner Buffet offering unlimited huge lobsters, crabs and oysters. * Stunningly Nikko Garden for outdoor social events accommodating 1,200 guests. * Breathtaking Nikko Club Lounge at the 23rd floor providing spectacular view of the city. * Complimentary daily drop off shuttle service to city center main tourist's landmarks. EXQUISITE SERVICE * EPIC FOOD GOURMET * UNITERRUPTED RELAXATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing