We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient, friendly, very high quality hotel; sure, a little off, but come on...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Ranked #5 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Efficient, friendly, very high quality hotel; sure, a little off, but come on...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This brand new hotel has all the qualities that you can expect from a top class international business hotel; actually I would rate it above average even in that category. Rooms are super nice; staff is efficient, helpful and friendly; beds are comfortable. The breakfast buffet is amazing, it has everything in it (maybe except for cream cheese to go with the very nice nice marinated salmon...). Nice outdoor pool area to relax after a day in this interesting albeit intense city.

We stayed at the Nikko three nights with our three teenagers as part of our holiday trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. Staff helped us to book sightseeings and activities, and also accompanied to help us during a necessary venture to the nearest pharmacy.

Air condition was maybe set on the low temp side in lobby and breakfast room; in the latter the temperature was actually adjusted upwards following our request (tip in room: 1 is highest fan speed on AC, 3 is lowest - we did not realize at first).

Teenagers, needing some time to indulge in teenagey activities, such as going online (yes, the free wifi worked impeccably in the room, however not in the lobby), appreciated the room service. They gave the highest mark to the pasta and club sandwiches served.

There is really only one drawback with this hotel: its location. Not a big drawback, only a small one: you can reach the central parts of district 1 with a taxi in 10 minutes for 60k - 70k VND. No big deal really. There are pretty decent restaurant streets and bars even closer. And, after all, the hotel is certainly not in the middle of nowhere. You are still in pretty central, indeed crowded parts of Saigon.

The staff excused for the fact that the hotel had not really yet been "broken in" and that there were still works going on furnishing rooms at some of the floors. No need. Everything worked smoothly and efficiently without the slightest hint that all procedures were still not perfectly in place. And works in the hotel? We saw nothing, heard nothing; yeah, sure, once we saw a painter carrying his equipment...

We highly recommend this hotel and look very much forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    612
    97
    34
    27
See reviews for
602
1,303
192
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nikko during this long Christmas weekend.
We decided to stay here given Hotel Nikko's reputation and convenient location.
From the welcome greetings to the elegant lobby - the hotel really exudes 5 star class.
Check-in was fast and smooth. Our room and the amenities are simply superb!
Just love the comfortable & firm bed, bathtub and the awesome high tech toilet bowl. It is all warmed up and very inviting ... with all the buttons to suit your needs.
The towels feel so luxurious and the bathrobes and slippers, too!
Service was really fast and efficient. All the staff are friendly and always with a pleasant greeting.
The breakfast is fantastic with a wide selection of local and international food.
The hotel is just beside a small mall, Now Zone, where you can easily grab a bite or shop for basic amenities. There is an obscure passage from the main lobby to the mall, which is just beside the Nikko Shop.
What was really surprising is that on Christmas Day, the staff left us Christmas stockings filled with chocolates & candies and greeting cards. During our last night, they left 2 small boxes with a piece of a delectable chocolate. It is these small gestures that really come a long way in showing excellent service.
It was a great experience all in all. I highly recommend this place to couples or even families (esp with kids) who wants a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. It is safe, quiet and away from the maddening crowds.
I love this hotel and would like to thank all their staff who are very helpful and friendly.
Our Christmas here was happy and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katsrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We booked and prepaid into the Hotel Nikko Saigon for a 3 night stay in December 2011. When we arrived at the airport, we purchased a taxi voucher to our District 1 hotel and were told that we had to pay a higher rate than the standard rate as the hotel was not actually in District 1– (the tourist area) as advertised by the hotel but rather in District 5. A little apprehensive, we got into the taxi and eventually arrived at the hotel.

We entered the hotel’s extremely modern very cold, high volume lobby and were ushered to the check-in desk. The check-in was reasonably efficient and we were asked to sit down in true Japanese style whilst they arranged a room for us. We were then told that the hotel was full as they had just opened the day before and
unfortunately our premium deluxe room was not ready.

In order to accommodate us, we were told that they had “upgraded” us to a premium deluxe room on their club level. We believed we were in for a real treat.

We went up to the room which was very modern and well appointed with an open plan bathroom with a separate shower. We then unpacked our bags and had a shower to clean up after our flight that morning. Once we were done, we went to check out the Nikko lounge which had a great view on the 23rd floor. When we went into the lounge, the assistant had no record of our check-in. We said we would return later and that we were just looking anyway.

Whilst we were waiting for the elevator, she came running out to tell us in front of other guests that we did not have lounge access as we had received a complimentary room “upgrade” and that lounge access could be purchased for $100 per day for the two of us.

The upgrade we were given was in fact the identical room but one level higher than we could have been given without an upgrade. Where is the upgrade? Whenever we have been upgraded to the club level in the past, it has always come with club privileges.

We put the lounge issue behind us and decided to go for a walk around the area. We had stayed at the Park Hyatt two years before and absolutely loved Ho Chi Minh because of that amazing experience. When we got to the lobby, we were told that to get to the tourist areas we would need to take a taxi as we were too far to walk.

We tried to walk around the area vicinity for 25 minutes but the area is really unattractive and not at all tourist friendly. We decided to catch a 20 minute taxi ride to the Ben Tanh area and ended up getting charged 6 times more than you should be for that trip by a dodgy taxi driver. We ended up spending the remainder of the day in the tourist friendly areas and caught a 20 minute taxi ride back to the hotel. We then returned to the tourist area for dinner with another 20 minute taxi ride and back to the hotel as there is nothing at all anywhere nearby.

That night we battled to sleep as the bed in the hotel was extremely hard and I got bad back ache from it. At about 4am we asked for another duvet to help soften the bed and 3 phone calls later we finally understood that the housekeeping staff had been standing outside our door for 15 minutes too afraid to knock as the please do not disturb light was on.

I decided to wake up and go work while my girlfriend tried to continue to sleep. She found this difficult as from 6am there was a constant banging noise around her. I was sitting downstairs in the business center lounge without lights as it was the only place to sit comfortably in the hotel and do some work.

At this point we decided that rather than destroy our Saigon vacation, we would move to another hotel. I spoke with the duty manager who informed me that because I had booked through expedia, they would not be able to refund my last two nights but in order to make up for the bad experience, they would enable our access to the Nikko club lounge – something that would have been expected as part of the original upgrade.

I explained that the fact that the hotel was in the middle of nowhere and that the beds were excruciatingly uncomfortable together with the incessant banging, being able to eat our included breakfast upstairs or being able to get some tea and canapés would not make our stay in a 5 star hotel enjoyable. To which she responded that if I chose to leave, I would need to forfeit my last two nights in the hotel.

After some deliberation, we decided that it was definitely worth our while to forfeit the $400 that we paid for our last 2 nights and move to the Caravelle which is a high end hotel in the right part of town.

I called to let the duty manager know that we were leaving and did not need her offer of the Nikko lounge as we had now booked into and paid for another hotel.
She asked me to please give her some time. When we checked out of the hotel, the duty manager informed me that she had spoken to expedia about refunding the last 2 nights and that I would receive an email confirming it. She did however insist that I pay for the water I took out of the mini bar in the middle of the night when we could not sleep.

When we left we could see the duty manager and what looked like the hotel GM standing at the door looking at us from inside while we were getting into the taxi. There was no effort to apologise for any inconvenience.

The following day, I called expedia and found out that there had not been any attempt from the hotel’s side to cancel the booking. They did however following my request, manage to get approval from the hotel to cancel and refund the unused nights.

Our selection of the Hotel Nikko was based on our love for Japan as well as the fact that it was a new and interesting looking hotel. We were extremely weary of the fact that there were no TA reviews as of yet and hoped that our love of both Japan and Ho chi Minh would make this stay an enjoyable one. We were sorely wrong.

I would not suggest staying in this hotel as a tourist. It could work well for a business trip where you need to be based in District 5. We feel that there is nothing else redeeming about the hotel or its surrounding areas.

Room Tip: If you are travelling for leisure, DO NOT stay here. Otherwise ask for a high room, the hotel has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Word_Traveller_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I are very lucky to arrive at perfect timing @Nikko Hotel Saigon because it's the hotel's Grand Opening today which we received a very warm welcoming. First we got a free room updrage (top floor) in celebration of our honeymoon and we also recieved a welcoming gift (flowers, teddy bear and decorating bowl).

I may be a little bias at the moment because of our first day of receiving special treatment but I must say the hotel very luxurious and hotel staff is VERY friendly and helpful (they can also speak very well in Enlish which is very hard to comeby here in Vietnam).

There's a shopping plaza next door, so far it's been good location and it's close to the airport.

Overall so far it's been very good on our first night.

I'm sure to give further review once we explore the hotel facilities (pool & spa) and locations outside!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty_rizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
Pullman Saigon Centre Hotel
#11 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Saigon

Property: Hotel Nikko Saigon
Address: 235 Nguyen Van Cu, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Saigon is a 5 star luxury hotel with 388 rooms, suites and apartments. The guestrooms are spaciously appointed and specifically designed to enable guests to both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation in the comfort of their own room - an oasis of calm in this busy city. Spa with treatment rooms. Outdoor swimming pool, modern gymnasium, Japanese restaurant, Chinese restaurant, Lobby lounge, International Buffet restaurant with all day dining and 24 hours room service. Nikko Club Lounge is located on 23rd floor, the highest level lounge where you can enjoy the spectacular view of the city. Complimentary shuttle service to and from Ho Chi Minh City center is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Nikko Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing