We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for sightseeing in Ho Chi Minh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Wind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Wind Hotel
Ranked #90 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for sightseeing in Ho Chi Minh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in the heart of the backpacker area of Saigon. We booked a family room via booking.com for $33 a night and couldn't have chosen better. We were surprised to see that it was a two-star hotel upon arrival, we've definitely stayed in much worse hotels with a higher star rating. The main advantage if this hotel is, apart from being very clean and spacious, with an amazingly helpful staff, that it is slightly off the main road and is very quiet, which is a bonus in Ho Chi Minh!!!! The reception staff are very helpful and will arrange taxis and recommend guided tours for you. On the first floor there are four computers for the guests to use - without charge, too - and there is free wi-fi in all the rooms. Another reviewer has mentioned the four-way showers, which are just perfect after a hot, sticky day wandering around the city!!! The only slight grumble would be about the breakfasts, which were included in the price, but consisted of rolls with a cheese triangle or a portion of jam and watered-down orange juice, served at a snail's pace!!! But its only a minor grumble - for the price we really shouldn't have expected better - and there are certainly enough cheap options within a few minutes walk, including the excellent Allez Boo, which has also been previously mentioned. We'll be back in Saigon next year and we will definitely book this hotel again

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, try and get room 201, as it is a large room with three beds and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    72
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I decided to write my review under the hotels new name "The Golden Wind Hotel" rather than its old alias 'Hoang Phong Hotel" for new travellers and because as anyone who has been to Vietnam knows there a few hotels operating under the same name making it hard to distinguish the bad from the good!. The reviews for this hotel under its old name can be found here:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g293925-d1074350-Reviews-Hoang_Phong_Hotel-Ho_Chi_Minh_City.html

When we were booking this hotel there were only 2 reviews on TA under its new name and we were nervous taking a chance on it but this hotel is an absolute gem in a great (but loud and noisy) city. It is fantastic value and an absolute must-splurge for backpackers/travellers who are tired of hostels or just on a shoestring budget. The normal rate per night is $20-25USD when booked through the hotel (highly recommended) and was just slightly more expensive when we booked through booking.com. The room rate runs in the same price of similar hotels in Vietnam but because of the comfort and the peace and quiet of this very centrally located hotel, I think its a gem!

Located just off Phạm Ngũ Lão Street down Alley 219, it can be very hard to find. Alley 219 lies right between 2 tour booking offices just a minute walk from Allez Boo restaurant on the corner of Đề Thám Street.

The family run hotel (who are lovely, humble people) is newly renovated and very nicely decorated for a budget hotel. The rooms are medium sized but offer more than enough comfortable room. The rooms have large windows that let in plenty of light but still have dark curtains for when you don't want it, a TV with a good range of channels, minibar, good remote controlled AC, multi-region wall adaptors (loved this!!!), large comfortable bed, and they even had a remote bedside the bed that controlled the different lights - no more forgetting to turn of the lights and jumping out of bed again!

The bathrooms had fresh toiletries, clean towels and a lovely unique shower with several hoses. While we stayed we used the hotel's laundry service which was very cheap, I cant remember how much but I know it was very reasonable. The breakfast was included in the room rate and was quite good. We were running late most mornings so we had eggs, toast, OJ, coffee and fruit and were quite happy.

Overall I really enjoyed this hotel, I thought it was great value offering peace and quiet in a central location and would highly recommend this hotel, in particular to tired and weary travellers!


Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Upper Floors and facing the back of the buiding for better light
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Miss_Aero_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Booked via booking.com for $40.00 for a triple room with breakfast. Good sized clean room and the hotel is just off the main road, so much quieter than other hotels. They were doing renovations when we were there (our room was quite dated) so I look forward to returning one day to see the new rooms. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was good, especially the noodle soup.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MsAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our first hotel on our first trip to Southeast Asia, so it was even more important that it was a quiet, well-run, honest place just steps away from the frenetic color of the Pham Ngu Lao area. The only room left had no window, but was attractive and clean and was just $20 with breakfast! Great cheap restaurants abound and tons of great shopping and people watching. The nearby park has zumba-type jazz classes that every age of Vietnamese women participate in (at all hours of the day and night it seems). The Golden Wind provides a safe refuge from the overwhelming energy of the main streets and the gracious hostess at the desk spoke English very well. Breakfast was included and was very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stumbled upon this family run hotel, down an alley. Lovely service, nice clean rooms, very helpful staff. A gem of a find!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bceko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Nice family hotel. Helpful straff and clean rooms. You get value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrik_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Tucked away in an alley off of Pham Ngu Lao street, the Golden Wind might be a slight challenge to find when you first arrive, but the hidden location provides for quiet and relaxing relief from the noise and chaos of the Pham Ngu Lao area. This was my 3rd trip to HCMC, and I ordinarily wouldn't be interested in staying in a hotel in the "backpacker" area of Pham Ngu Lao street, but this hotel is clean, quiet, and far enough removed from the action that it turned out to be the perfect place. The hotel is new and the room felt nice (a little small and cozy) everything was clean, worked well, strong A/C, etc. The only problem was a lack of hot water, it would either take a long time to get hot water, or occasionally there was no hot water at all, but this wasn't a big problem, because in Vietnam, I generally need a cold shower to cool off from the heat, so it didn't bother me. The staff are SUPER friendly and helpful, the drinks stocked in the fridge are cheap (same street prices you would pay, they don't gouge you for the convenience like a larger hotel would) At $21/ night with breakfast included (excellent food choices, and they happily provided options off the menu) I couldn't justify spending $150-250 to stay at one of the familiar hotels like the Sheraton, New World, or Caravelle, etc. This is a small, family-owned operation and provides a nice level of personal service and comfort that you won't find in the larger hotels. I highly recommend the Golden Wind.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
Diamond Suite Parkview Hotel
#57 of 517 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Pearl Hotel
New Pearl Hotel
#51 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quoc Minh Hotel
Quoc Minh Hotel
#95 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kim Khoi Hotel
Kim Khoi Hotel
#98 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
N Dung Hotel
N Dung Hotel
#148 of 517 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
4 Boys Guesthouse
4 Boys Guesthouse
#249 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Wind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Wind Hotel

Property: Golden Wind Hotel
Address: 219 / 8A Pham Ngu Lao, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Wind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Wind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing