We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ganesh good”
Review of Ganesh

Ganesh
Ranked #81 of 3,184 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ganesh good”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Weather you go to Q1 or Q7 you will find the food very good. Service is sometimes a little slow (it is Vietnam) but worth the wait. The Tali is excellent value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dani_in_Nam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    144
    35
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We decided to eat at Ganesh in D7 earlier this year.

The food quality was good, the menu had a wide selection. Drinks were affordable and it had a typically British Indian atmosphere to the restaurant which is exactly what I was after.

Very clean, good service and a nice venue.

Good for Individuals, couples or groups.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Decent Selection, Good Service, Decent Setting”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been going here a while now, and I definitely recommend it. The food is splendid. I've loved everything I've tried, though the garlic usage can be extreme overkill in some dishes. The selection could be greater, though, but it's certainly acceptable as is. Spice levels are fairly low, too, which is welcomed as other Indian restaurants in the city seem incapable of toning it down.

The service has also been good, though I've been turned away during the afternoon on a few occasions. This is one of the few places that isn't open between lunch and dinner. Staff speak enough English to get by, with the managers being highly competent. Food usually comes out within 10-15min and without much variance in quality.

The setting is alright. It's nice but not exceptional. The bathrooms are clean and look nice. Seating options range from hard wooden chairs to the comfortable sofa-esque. Fairly soft, light Indian music is usually played.

Prices are good and inline with other Indian places in the city: 80-90 for most mains, 30-50 for naans and rices. Drinks are a bit expensive at 30-50.

Overall, I think this place is underrated currently at #48. For the price range, it's one of the best places in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Indian food at a great price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have all my favorite Indian foods. I have to eat here at least once a week. The servers there are always friendly and the owner always makes sure we are well cared for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Finger licking good food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are after good Indian food, go to this restaurant. They also have branches in other cities.
The food is amazing. Just see the crowd and the constant flow of people inside. You don't need to read reviews. Obviously people know how good the food is there.
The clientele is not just Indian.. I would say more than 50% are non indians.
We had the best tasting Malai Kofta and Bhindi Fry Masala outside of India at this place with large fresh and fluffy garlic naans and basmati rice pulao.
The food was so fresh, correctly spiced and with generous quantities at prices that will make you chuckle.
The taste of the food made us remember of 'Amber' restaurants in Kolkata, West Bengal,India.
They take a lot of care to make the food as per your requirements and are very friendly and helpful.
The Vada-Sambar and the Dahi Vada were delicious. Crisp freshly made medu vadas with good chutnies (2 types) and sambar.
This is the place to go to when in Ho Chi Minh city. Do not waste your time tryng the many other places as they are not all that great.
Address:15b4 Lê Thánh Tôn, Bến Nghé, District 1 Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A1Sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganesh also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ganesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing