We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mekong and Saigon surrounds”

Water Buffalo Private Day Tours
Ranked #8 of 378 Tours in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Started in 2009 as a fully licensed International Tour Operator, we have specialized on private & customized day tours in and around Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City), Mekong Delta, Hoi An, Hue, Hanoi and Siem Reap. Also, we have run private and customized packaged-tours from one to five weeks throughout Vietnam and Cambodia Based in Saigon, we are experts on Mekong Delta tours(one to four days), authentic Saigon day trip, day trip to Long Tan & Nui Dat, day trip to Can Gio Ecological & Biosphere Conservation, and half-day trip to Cu Chi Tunnels Also, we have catered many cruise ships' clients who landed at several coastal ports i.e. Nha Rong (Saigon) Phu Huu, Hiep Phuoc, Phu My, Interflour, Tien Sa, Chan May,and Cai Lan (Ha Long),...
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Real Mekong and Saigon surrounds”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Picked up by our guide Tan and driver Tuan at 7.30am and away we went. Stopped at the Cao Dai Temple in Can Giuoc, where Tan explained the origin and how long it had been at that location. Met the monk who is the caretaker. Saw the local market and walked around it, before arriving at the My Loi car ferry. Saw quite a few different enterprises that locals were working at, chilli growing, furniture maker. Jumped on bikes and taken for a 7km ride around the paddy fields and villages before lunch. Had a lovely seafood lunch at Tan Thanh beach, with yummy pippi's, prawns and fish. Went for a cruise up the Mekong and around one of the islands in the Delta. Met Khoi (owner of tour) who was a very nice man. We drove home on the freeway and arrived back at our hotel tired after an interesting, funfilled day with a wonderful tour guide. Highly recommend this tour so you can see the real Mekong Delta and people without the usual touristy stalls, you dont go to the tourist places - so much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank micheleaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    33
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Mekong Delta experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Picked up at 7.20am by driver Nam, guide Phuong, and trainee guide Tu, my wife and I (both
aged in upper 70,s) experienced the most fantastic day to a modified itinerary by Khoi Nguyen
to suit our limited capabilities. Cannot speak highly enough of the attention given to us, the
lovely seafood lunch and the markets, temples and nurseries were lovely. Were returned to our hotel at 5.50pm. A day tour worth every cent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank orry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Saigon, Real Mekong.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked two days of tours with Water Buffalo Tours. The first tour was the Real Saigon tour. Since they were super busy, the owner Khoi broke from the day to day office work and gave us a tour! We were very impressed with his knowledge and Khoi provided fantastic background to the streets, the history and the day to day life of Saigon. We were so impressed that we booked a day tour of the Mekong the following day with is younger brother who is also a guide. On our Mekong trip we bicycled all around the small paths in the heart of the rice fields and orchards. Because our guide grew up in this little village we were able to go way off the beaten path with no worry of getting lost. We had an amazing lunch on the beach next to the ocean. The best part about the Mekong tour is that it was away from the rest of the tour groups. We were the only foreigners we saw the whole day. The locals were eager to meet us and say hi and no one tried to sell us anything. We would definitely recommend this tour group to anyone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wondai, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Saigon”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our guide Quang, and our driver gave us a fabulous private one-day tour of Saigon including a cyclo ride, and great lunch. Quang was able to provide a lot of information about the places we visited, e.g. Presidential Palace that we would not have found out had we gone there by ourselves. We also saw other parts of Saigon that aren't usually seen. Quang went out of his way to help me locate a starter motor for my own scooter at home that we would never have been able to find. Quang answered any questions we asked about life in Vietnam and his pride in his country shone through. It was all very well organised and despite it raining at times, we missed out on nothing. We hope to do the Mekong trip the next time we come to this beautiful country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agassiz, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a great time on our 3 day Mekong trip.Our guide,Ha,was knowledgable and had a good command of English and a wonderful sense of humour!It was a fantastic cultural experience away from the tourist crowds and gave us real incite into Mekong Delta life.Everything was well organized and on time,from bike riding in the countryside to having lunch in the Mangrove swamp to a ceremony in a Coa Dai temple.Our 5am start on the second day took us to the floating markets,where we got an up close experience we will never forget.We highly recommend this trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Buffalo Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Water Buffalo Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing