We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Water Buffalo Private Day Tours
Ranked #11 of 389 Tours in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Started in 2009 as a fully licensed International Tour Operator, we have specialized on private & customized day tours in and around Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City), Mekong Delta, Hoi An, Hue, Hanoi and Siem Reap. Also, we have run private and customized packaged-tours from one to five weeks throughout Vietnam and Cambodia Based in Saigon, we are experts on Mekong Delta tours(one to four days), authentic Saigon day trip, day trip to Long Tan & Nui Dat, day trip to Can Gio Ecological & Biosphere Conservation, and half-day trip to Cu Chi Tunnels Also, we have catered many cruise ships' clients who landed at several coastal ports i.e. Nha Rong (Saigon) Phu Huu, Hiep Phuoc, Phu My, Interflour, Tien Sa, Chan May,and Cai Lan (Ha Long),...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had an absolute fantastic time on the Mekong Local for a Day tour, like many previous other reviewers we didn't have the time for an extended trip on the Mekong so we took what we could get and after a lot of research decided this tour sounded like it suited us.

We had a group of 11 and everyone loved it - my highlight was definitely the rural market, while others loved the bike ride and the seafood lunch. Khoi was fantastic, very prompt to respond to emails and excellent on the day. He took a couple of our group getting sick in his stride and accommodated our request for a coffee midway through by taking us to a nice local coffee shop.
If you're looking for a much more real look at the Mekong Delta then this would be the tour for you, I couldn't recommend it any more - easily one of the best tours I've done. Just wish we'd had the time for the longer tour...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CallumY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    36
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day tour!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great day tour, booked after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Had excellent service from Khoi via email when booking, he always responded to my emails promptly.

The tour itself was great. Very comfortable airconditioned van. First we went to a Cao Dia temple which was very interesting, then to a local market which was clearly not a tourist venue.

Khoi's service was great, including having access to clean western style toilets in a bank next to the local market, and alwasy providing us with toilet paper in case it was needed.

The standard tour has a bike ride around a small village, however because we had young children we went on scooters. I was a bit nervous, but the roads were very quiet, helmets were provided and the scooter drivers were very good. The kids loved it! And the adults loved seeing the small village, including the house where Khoi grew up, and hearing his stories about being a child during the Vietnam War.

After a great lunch we had a boat ride up the Mekong. It was hot on the boat in the sun, however not long before we transferred to a smaller boat for a beautiful ride up a small shady tributary.

I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see the Mekong region in one day. We are planning another visit to Vietnam in a few years and will definately be contacting Khoi to arrange a longer tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing day trip”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took the full day trip down the river. It was well worth the time! Our group was very small (us and one family). The tour guide was great; funny, helpful, and knew his stuff. The first part of the tour is definitely off the normal path where you can see the Vietnam farming lifestyle. The second part is very relaxing taking a larger boat with a very good meal. I would highly recommend this tour if you have a day to spend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“It was a lovely, interesting, off-the-beaten track tour. Well worth it!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We really wanted to experience the Mekong Delta and only had a day to do it. Water Buffalo Tours gave us the opportunity to see a lot very quickly with the unique perspective of being led by someone with an intimate knowledge of the place. Khoi was a great, knowledgable, laid back guy. We couldn't have asked for a better guide!

Highlight of the trip was definitely the bike ride. I wish we had spent more time on that piece, Khoi told us of a tour he does that's a 2 day biking tour and if you have a couple of days to spend it might be worth doing!! The market was a close second (I got to hold 4 teeny chicks in my hand at once, seriously too cute) and holding a random python was interesting too!

If you just have a day, do this tour without a doubt. But the Mekong delta is huge and filled with so much scenery (we went from city to rice paddies and countryside to ocean to river and canals to jungle in just a day) that it's worth spending some more time in if you can.

If we are ever back in Vietnam we will definitely use water buffalo tours again!

Helpful?
Thank Lindsaysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta dissapointment”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't expect beautiful beaches and huge floating markets. We booked this trip in part because we would stop at the beach and my wife and I eagerly packed our swim suits when we read that there would be a stop at the Tan Thanh Beach. Instead it was just and ugly muddly place where we would never consider going in the water. After a long but somewhat interesting drive we ended up down at Ben Tre where it felt a bit like what we expected in the Mekong. The canals and coconuts were interesting but we never stopped at the huge floating markets that are on the cover of all of the travel guides. The trip was overall ok but we were definitely expecting more.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ka Ping Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Buffalo Private Day Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Water Buffalo Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing