We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, good but expensive food.”
Review of The Elbow Room

The Elbow Room
Ranked #143 of 3,204 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Upscale Bistro, American & International cuisine. Breakfast served all day. Popular weekend brunch. Live Friday night band.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good but expensive food.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Good comfort food in a very nice and clean place. I wish western food weren't so expensive in HCMC city but the prices are fair.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear RobertL,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review.

I understand that the prices are not as cheap as we would like but unfortunately for majority of Western restaurants in Vietnam that uses mainly imported products. Thank you for your understanding and hope to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    136
    32
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great western food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

From being in Ho Chi Minh for 2 months, it was great to find a nearby place with fantastic western food. I came here multiple times for dinner and breakfast and received great service and food on all occasions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xanth4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Justin H,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future and please let us know next time you're in.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

It is always nice to come by during my long Asia trips to get western food. Love the pancakes! Everything great on menu. Wish they opened at 7am so it was convenient in morning is my only complaint.

Helpful?
Thank CabotLTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CabotLTN

It is not often we get reviews from TA and especially a nice review as well. Thank you for your patrionage and time to review us on TA. Will make a note regarding opening at 7AM... Glad you have a had a wonderful experience in our restaurant and hope to be able to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan

ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you've had too much rice is The Elbow Room the place for you.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Clean and cozy restaurant with a good selection at a western menu. This is one of the best places for Western food in Ho Chi Minh City. Especially their salads are a class apart. You can feel the restaurent owner is passionate about the place, both the food and the atmosphere.
I will gladly recommend you to visit The Elbow Room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear CamillaH,

it is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review.

I am very proud of our menu and especially our salads. You are right on and really made our day. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Western Food”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I hate to admit this but after three weeks in the country and eating the local cuisine, which was fantastic everywhere, we had to go Western!! We were definitely not disappointed, so much so we went back twice! The place feels like an American diner. The staff are courteous although didn't seem to want to engage in conversation. That said the food is fantastic and certainly the second visit cured our guilty Western hunger pangs. It's good value too. Would highly recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan N, Owner at The Elbow Room, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Justin H,

It is not often we get review from TA so always glad when we see one. Majority of our guests are local expats and vietnamese and they're not often on TA. Thank you for your patrionage and time to write a review. We hope to be able to see you again in the near future and please let us know next time you're in.

Cheers,
Tristan
ngotristan@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elbow Room also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing