We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful”
Review of Restaurant 13

Restaurant 13
Ranked #447 of 3,241 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Just awful”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Drab canteen like setting which we wouldn't have minded had there been more than one table occupied and the food good. However, food was just awful. Even simple fried calamari was covered in disgusting batter, chewy and tasteless. We left our entire food barely touched and left. It isn't cheap either. Note we went to the little place at 15 Ngo Duc ke, it's not the one on the river.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    54
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome view of the river”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A little outside of the city but This is worth trying just for the view alone. it feels very peaceful sitting along the river. That night was very humid and started to rain while we were there. A local friend took us there, the food was good! had some spring rolls type of thing which you make with some leaves and some other fillings, shrimp and fish sauce (imagine a version of the americanized chinese lettuce wraps) this is the real thing though! We also tried the sea cucumber soup with crispy rice and had some fried rice as well. Just so you know this is Vietnam is outside, is tropical weather so you might see your share of little lizards chilling on the walls or roof which I think adds to the whole experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant 13 - the one without a view”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This review is based on the small restaurant at 15 D Ngo Duc Ke. We visited this place as it was recommended in the lonely planet and round the corner from our hotel. Firstly don't judge this place on looks as you would just keep on walking...take the plunge and go and you will not be disappointed. The food is excellent and very cheap, we had a meal for two with beer and it came to around 350,000 dong. The service is friendly and there seems to be mix of locals and tourists (with lonely planets in hand). I perhaps wouldn't recommend to go here for a romantic meal for two as there is a slight cafe feel to it but for some very authentic local cuisine and a great price it does the job perfectly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
434 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Please note this is a review of Restaurant 13 at 23 Nguyen U Di in District 2”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Make sure you go to the restaurant in District 2 at 23 Nguyen U Di, Thao Dien. It has the riverside loaction and is set well back from a quiet road - not like the cover photo. I was taken there by a local Vietnamese family and the food was of really good quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F1roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Vietnamese cuisine”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had dinner at Restaurant 13 which was more of an authentic Vietnamese restaurant compared to others in District 2 where a lot of Ex - pats live. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal selection including some clay pot dishes. There was a sea fish with tamarind dish which was particularly tasty. Great variety on the menu and very reasonably priced. Staff were not great with communication but the normal sign language seemed to suffice. Nice location on the banks of the Saigon river with clumps of water hyacinths floating past, plus the odd freight carrying barge. Would gladly go again if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 13 also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Restaurant 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing