We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little base”
Review of PP BackPackers

PP BackPackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PP BackPackers
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

PP backpackers is an ideal base for exploring Saigon.
Room was ok - slightly dated but this doesn't bother me. Hot water shower and free wifi in rooms (which I found super helpful as I was so jet lagged I couldn't sleep for two nights so I could use the internet to amuse me!) Also a computer available to use in the lobby.
I didn't really have much interaction with the staff but they provided a really helpful city map so we managed to walk to most places.
It is in a very central location without being noisy.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 155 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Similar to many of the other small hostels, but fantastic staff make staying at PP's really enjoyable. The building is as quiet as can be when it's only one street back from Bui Vien. Great location, great staff, and cheap. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Stevesgonewalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty much a perfect base for the money in the city. It's well located, easily within walking distance of the sights (no more than 20 minutes away to the furthest ones) and not too noisy.

The rooms are fairly spacious, with TV and fridge. The duvets could seriously do with an update as they have holes in many places. Not a big one but still a basic really! Bathroom spacious with good shower pressure, however the hot water seemed to disappear after the first night!

Staff are really helpful and friendly, we left something by accident and they kept hold of it until we returned again! A rarity in most SE Asia establishments!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my three night stay in the dorm room of this hostel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are good value for money in comparison to what is on offer in the rest of the city. The dorm room is reasonably spacious for 8 beds and pretty clean. Recommended for budget backpáckers

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egalla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It's been said so many times but it bears repeating: Beck is an incredible host. After traveling to many different cities and staying in many hotels I feel constantly harassed to buy packages or tours or tickets I don't really want or need. Beck is the most genuinely kind person I've net on my travels. She only wants to find the cheapest and most desirable things for you to do during (and after) your stay. The room was great for the price (private with bathroom). It's in a great location. I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed my stay. Now the city, that's a completely different story.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Bich is lovely. V welcoming and helpful hostel. Decent price considering what's on offer around backpackersville. There was a mix up with our booking on the first night so we stayed with her cousin next door for no extra charge. Free maps were a great help!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We would have given this nice little hostel a better rating if we hadn't stayed there during a rain storm. It rained all night and the next day there was some flooding in the roads. Unfortunately this seemed to back up the sewer system, as there was a bad sewer smell in our bathroom for 24+ hours after the storm. The staff were very apologetic, but there was no easy fix. I'm not sure if this is a city-wide problem or if their pipes need to be cleaned? Other than that, we had a great stay. The staff are lovely and helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#14 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#15 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#8 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 686 in Ho Chi Minh City
740 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing