We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and cheap hostel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PP BackPackers

PP BackPackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PP BackPackers
philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“clean and cheap hostel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

i arrived by bus and i was surprised that the hostel is an easy-to-find 3-minute walk from the bus stop. i didnt need to take a taxi or a motorbike which was a relief. the place was just a short walk to must-see places of ho chi minh. travel agencies, streetfood, cafes and night buses are a stone-throw away. the receptionist speaks good english and was friendly. they shared with me and another guest fruits they were having for snacks. the 8-bed dorm was pretty spacious and well-ventilated. the bathrooms were clean, although the faucet needs fixing to stop the leak. the linens and towel were freshly laundered. they also kept my bag and let me take a shower even after checkout which was convenient since my bus to nha trang didnt leave until 8pm. i had a great one-night stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jecca_castillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    43
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
40
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in November for five nights and thought it was very good for what we paid for. Apart from a dodgy shower and the TV not working, our stay was very pleasant. We stayed in a private room and found the beds to be comfortable and staff to be very friendly! House keeping came a few times, and we were so impressed with the location! A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights for the first part of our Vietnam trip. We had originally planned to stay only 1 night, but as it was so reasonably priced and well located, we stayed for 4. The staff were helpful, and arranged a great tour to Cao Dai temple and Cu Chi tunnels for us. Our room was comfortable, apart from a slight leak at one of the windows, but it didn't bother us. Bathroom was fine, and the shower was typical of Vietnam, in that the water was lukewarm at best. For the last night we stayed in the dorm, as it was even cheaper. The beds were comfy, and there was a surprising lack of street noise due to the hostel being up a side street.
Plenty of eating options all around, as the hostel is in the heart of backpacker central. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smileysmile18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a night train at 5am. Wr emailed the hostel before had to let them know we were going to arrive early. Hoping they would have a room for us to crash in but all he could offer was somewhere to leave our bags. A tad disappointing. Its not great being somewhere new at 5am!
Reception wasnt great the lady who works therea mum greeted us spoke no english so we went to a coffee bar until 9am then got a taxi to cuchi tunnels and finally checked in at 1pm. Cu Chi tunnels were soooo interesting definitely go there!
The room was ok we were in a bamboo themed room upstairs to the left. The room faced another window so make sure you draw the curtains before you get changed! It was really noisy as the door didnt fit properly and there were gaps. We needed earplugs by the end!!
Dont use Mickeys Laundry the one they recommend our stuff came back dirtier then we gave it our whites stained brown and little individual tags on every single item of clothing we are still finding them now! Incredibly annoying!
I had a pedicure at Kelly Nails just down from there it was lovely they removed dead skin from the feet which was gross but it made our feet feel nice again... didnt last long though we were soon back to travellers feet! Opposite that was a nice little vest shop with fixed prices.
Oh and the location is a little hard to find! down an alley but we got used to that!

Thats pretty much everything. Not sure if we would stay here again but of we did.we would get a different room. It wasnt the worst and it wasnt the best either.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

When i arrived at 7am in the morning, i entered a dorm with 7 other males in it (i was the only female). Nervous as i was at the time, they invited me out with them with open arms and i have then been travelling with them since.

The beds are quite comfortable and there is a decent locker service!! The woman that runs the place does an amazing job of it which we unfortunately took advantage of it, bringing parties and the like back... which i am sorry for!
there is now a sign in place saying about 'no drinking or sexual activites allowed' ---that was our fault.. sorry again!

you get used to the shower eventually but it isnt hot water..

i would definitely recommend staying there!
also, for night life, dont go into the 'bars' just sit on the side of the road that has a 10,000 poster out the front of it

thanks. shannon.

Room Tip: choose a dorm to meet people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in the 10 bed mixed dorm, which is the hostel's only dorm as all other rooms are private. I liked the atmosphere most of all, there was a good sense of a backpacking community and just the right number of beds for the room. A lot of people stayed longer than planned, including myself. Most nights I ended up going for beers close by with someone or several people from the dorm - it had a great vibe. 'Bin' the receptionist was great and gave me lots of advice regarding which trips to do - she also has a great rack of clothes which she sells at bargain prices - I got two new tops while I was there. There are lockers provided but the door to the dorm does not have a key. This place is in a great location for getting decent food and drink, going shopping, seeing the sights of Saigon or just for sitting back and taking in the city. The walls of the dorms are also decorated with very quirky bicycles and trees, cute!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_pops89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Well, I should say, everything except breakfast but a wide variety of that can easily be had within 10 metres of the door for a buck or two.

PP Backpackers was probably my favourite place in Vietnam and among the best guesthouses I stayed at in South East Asia. Duncan who owns the place and Bich who runs the place with him are both super sweet nice people. They both went out of their way for us both times we stayed there.

The rooms are clean, quiet, and well thought-out. First time we stayed we took a balcony room, which was much better than the second room we had on the first floor at the back of the hotel. Both rooms had windows though the one on the first floor just looked into the neighbours window about 3 ft away. Wif-fi is fast and reliable with routers on every floor so its always pretty much full bars.

Bathrooms were awesome, large, clean, hot water, great water pressure, and a small lip to separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom so the entire bathroom doesn't get soaked.

The location is perfect, right in the heart of the backpacker area and 2 mins away from the cheap beer stands (10,000 (.50) a bottle. 10,000 a shot. But because the guesthouse is on a small road off the main streets its completely quiet at night.

Only one downside, there isn't much of a social scene but then again, just walk to the aforementioned beer stalls and there's no shortage of travellers to chat with.

Rooms were running between $15-$18 when we were there and its well well worth it. We stayed across the street for $15 and it didn't even compare. No idea about the dorms but I expect they're similar to everywhere else.

If you're staying in HCMC I highly recommend checking out PP Backpacker. Feel free to contact me if you'd like the direct email.

Cheers and happy travels.

Room Tip: shell out the extra coin for a room in front with a balcony. You may not use it since it often feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coconutfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#10 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
#9 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse
Giang Son Guesthouse
#25 of 835 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel - Cong...
#13 of 519 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP BackPackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Property: PP BackPackers
Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 519 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing