We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average!”
Review of Hong Hai Seafood

Hong Hai Seafood
Ranked #513 of 3,361 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just average!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went there on Wed night. It wasn't pack when we get there but soon it started to fill up. You see more locals then tourist but the food wasn't that great. Some waitress was friendly, some wasn't. Negative point - we (with young children) were seated next to a table of heavy smoker patrons when there are plenty of tables available away from the smoker. Overall, it's an average experience for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Littamozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed the food here so much, that we came back to sample more. One of the great things about Hong Hai is how popular it is! It is a large restaurant on three floors and both times we ate here it was full to overflowing and not another foreigner in sight. There is a great atmosphere with tables full of small and large family groups enjoying delicious food.

We had a selection of beautifully cooked seafood, superb clams, oysters, crabs, prawns, scallops and more, some served in great sauces and all well presented with care and attention.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is speedy, even when they are so busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Overwhelming Experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

All I can say is what I tell my friends, to try to explain the full experience I had at Hong Hai restaurant, near Duc Ba Church in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam.

From the street it looks like your approaching a nice hotel, with the trees all lit up and red carpet entrance.

As you walk in you see the small pond with fish and you can see a wall of fish tanks in the back right side. (so you can pick out certain live fish, crabs, and more) Your greeted by the welcoming staff and then you start to look up and notice there are 3 stories and private rooms on certain floors.

I was overwhelmed looking all around just trying to "soak it all up".

Looking at the menu it was easy as a English speaking foreigner to see each dish and their description.

But since I was visiting I asked the waitress what I should try, she recommend the grilled oysters soft shell crab and the sautéed crab along with some house special seafood fried rice.

Food was great, drink were good, and the atmosphere was simply amazing.

I don't get to travel o Vietnam much but rest assured I will always find time to eat at Hong Hai when I do.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“price and atmosphere were great”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

had chilli crab, steamed shrimps, scallop and baked oyster with cheese and a dish of fried rice, all so yummy and it was a big restaurant , so it was good for beer and a group of travellers to go. end up we 2 spent 25 USD per head. worth a go and 10 minutes taxi from city center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good seafood with reasonable price”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If someone looking for delicous food with reasonable price-must try this one although the waitree is very cool. I still love this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivymuicoffee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Hai Seafood also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hong Hai Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing