We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Hai Seafood

Hong Hai Seafood
Ranked #239 of 2,615 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed the food here so much, that we came back to sample more. One of the great things about Hong Hai is how popular it is! It is a large restaurant on three floors and both times we ate here it was full to overflowing and not another foreigner in sight. There is a great atmosphere with tables full of small and large family groups enjoying delicious food.

We had a selection of beautifully cooked seafood, superb clams, oysters, crabs, prawns, scallops and more, some served in great sauces and all well presented with care and attention.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is speedy, even when they are so busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Overwhelming Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

All I can say is what I tell my friends, to try to explain the full experience I had at Hong Hai restaurant, near Duc Ba Church in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam.

From the street it looks like your approaching a nice hotel, with the trees all lit up and red carpet entrance.

As you walk in you see the small pond with fish and you can see a wall of fish tanks in the back right side. (so you can pick out certain live fish, crabs, and more) Your greeted by the welcoming staff and then you start to look up and notice there are 3 stories and private rooms on certain floors.

I was overwhelmed looking all around just trying to "soak it all up".

Looking at the menu it was easy as a English speaking foreigner to see each dish and their description.

But since I was visiting I asked the waitress what I should try, she recommend the grilled oysters soft shell crab and the sautéed crab along with some house special seafood fried rice.

Food was great, drink were good, and the atmosphere was simply amazing.

I don't get to travel o Vietnam much but rest assured I will always find time to eat at Hong Hai when I do.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“price and atmosphere were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

had chilli crab, steamed shrimps, scallop and baked oyster with cheese and a dish of fried rice, all so yummy and it was a big restaurant , so it was good for beer and a group of travellers to go. end up we 2 spent 25 USD per head. worth a go and 10 minutes taxi from city center.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good seafood with reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If someone looking for delicous food with reasonable price-must try this one although the waitree is very cool. I still love this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivymuicoffee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Gets better every visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We are presently on our fourth trip to Vietnam and we just enjoyed our third visit to this wonderful restaurant.

The seafood here is the best we have found in our visits to date and we already look forward to coming back for another treat next year.

The menu is extensive and choosing what to eat is the toughest part of the evening. We would recommend all the choices we made. We started with the egg rolls which are like very crispy spring rolls, absolutely delicious. We followed up with tasty “Rocket Rolls” stuffed with pork, mushrooms, glass noodle, accompanied with salad & baby tomatoes. Next we shared Sautéed Scallops, 7 fresh scallops still attached to their shells with a variety of tiny flavoured additions, the flavour was amazing. Crispy deep fried squid was our next treat. The squid was fresh and cooked just as it should be ie "crispy”. We had these dishes with the probably the best seafood fried rice we have had (ever) and all were finished off with a complimentary plateful of fresh pineapple slices. For drinks we had a bottle of Heinekin and a bottle of Chardonnay.
.
One or two other reviewers commented this place is not cheap. Our bill for all of the above was US$41. Including a tip of around D150K our total cost was less than US $50.

One reviewer commented this place lacks atmosphere (?). Sure it is a big restaurant which covers 3 levels, but if you would like a superb setting in a romantic environment, then ring early and request a table under a tree in the garden. Such a setting rates highly for special occasions.

The staff were efficient and almost running to keep up with the orders but doing a superb job of keeping up the service. One strange custom we observed was the waitresses dropping huge iceblocks into the beer glasses of all the locals. Odd to Australians but it’s the way the locals like it.

We visited on Thursday night and the place was almost full. Interestingly, 90% of the customers were Vietnamese, very different from the touristy restaurants we have visited around District 1. From our riverside hotel it was about 10 minutes by taxi. 60,000 Dong on the meter and with a 40% tip it still costs less than US $5 to get there.

There is so much to choose from on the menu here and each visit we promise ourselves next time we will try the Frogs Legs, the Eel, or even the Chicken Feet but when the time comes it’s hard to resist the tasty items I’ve mentioned, and we know from experience they do some fabulous crab and fish dishes!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieWestCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Hai Seafood also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hong Hai Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing