We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - but don't get confused”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Vien Dong Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #308 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Good value - but don't get confused”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

There are at least 8 hotels with the same name in District 7 alone so can only speak for the one we stayed in. Took a while to find it and the taxi driver took us to the wrong one but fortunately the receptionist was able to take us to the right hotel.All the hotels are located in quiet side streets.

Initially we were given a dirty room with an unmade bed and then offered a stale smelling room but upon complaining to reception we were given a good, clean room which we were more than happy with.

The room actually consisted of 2 bedrooms each with a double bed and a small shared bathroom. Each bedroom had a TV, bedside table and closet space. Tea making facilities were provided in one room.

The bathroom was small with a shower and toilet. Amenities were provided.

The staff were friendly and helpful in getting taxis which are essential if staying this far out of the city centre.

Breakfast was included in the rate ($35 USD per night for 2) which we considered to be good value for money for this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 days during buisiness trip. D7 is a great place to stay in ho chi min city since it is new, clean, but far from D1 and with a lot of restaurant and English speaking people. Very nice place for an expat.
Regarding the hotel itself from outside it was disappointing but rooms are quite large, weel and new furnished, with fair internet connection, flat screen with Western programs. The services are good too with restaurant (fair) and very cheap but good quality laundry service. No need to pay more :)


Pro:
Service
nice room
Laundry


cons:
Not looks "buisiness" from outside

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casanovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A wonderful place, tucked away in the exact place it needs to be, close tot he night markets, and restaurants. The rooms were exceptional, the staff friendly and knowledgeable, and the whole atmosphere started my trip out the right way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctaviusvonGilgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My employer booked me a room at this hotel the first time I came in Vietnam. I stayed for a month before renting an apartment in the neighborhood. The rooms are clean and the rate included breakfast. The restaurant is well regarded and full at noon. The bar used to be better!

For an extended stay, ask for their extended stay studios with monthly rate, located in the same area but at other buildings. I made my first friends in Vietnam at this site!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joebenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Okay, its not the Regent but its clean, secure, the wireless is free (and mostly works at the high speed it is sold as) and it is reasonably central to most of the sights and sites around this city. And its cheap. Breakfast was as good as any. Laundry service was prompt (back on the same day even though I was expecting it back the next morning), front counter staff seem to know what they are doing. The rooms are built around a central atrium which is a fantastic echo chamber and can be a bit distracting, though not as much as the neighbours out the back if they start up a brawl at three in the morning - at which point you turn up the very good air-conditioner and go back to sleep. As other reviewers note, it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickledEel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rooms look nice as I think they renovated in the last year or so. Close to centre of PMH. Lots of taxi's outside.

detractions are the staff. They are not too good plus the manager/owner is not the type that listens to customer complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopoldstodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

situated in district 7 about 4 km from market area rooms are nice and cosy. The room in which i stayed was small but bigger rooms are avaliable. Food is good. Staff is very friendly and cooperative.breakfast is included in room rate but you can order only 1 dish from the menu for breakfast per person. Airport drop and pick up is avaliable which is cheap as compared to taxi and will cost u 4500000 dong i.e is about 22 $. And going to main city by taxi will cost u around 5$. Ask hotel staff to arrange a taxi as some taxi persons are cheaters. There is also a indian food restaurent around the corner. Wi-fi internet avaliable in the hotel and is free. Also some good foot massage parlour around this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
Vien Dong Hotel
Vien Dong Hotel
#149 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.0 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.3 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#33 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Property: Vien Dong Hotel
Address: R4-27, R4-28 Hung Phuoc 3 | Phu My Hung, Dist 7, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vien Dong Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing