We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngoc Tho

Ngoc Tho
Ranked #754 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: District 1, Backpackers' Area
Galle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very tasty and pretty cheap place, given it is in the backpacker-ville of the Pham Ngu Lao area. There are in fact a fair few vegetarian local restaurants in Saigon (look for 'chay' on the sign), but this rates highly for the food and the ease of location for many visitors.

They do some Western food, but I have no idea what it tastes like, because why go there for a pancake when there is good local food on offer. They even do a vegetarian pho.

The staff are friendly in the Viet way and the menu is easy to understand, despite some comments, as it is in Vietnamese and English. Lots of locals come here, which is a good sign, when they never go to many other places in this area.

Lunch can be a good bet, because the sleazy bar across the road, complete with bar girls getting fat, sad old men to buy drinks, can play loud, moronic 'thump-thump'
music at nights sometimes. This might not worry everyone, of course.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stylosarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“gorgeous meals with amazing cheap price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The reviews of the tripadvisor of this restaurant are genuine and reliable. In fact today I ordered fried rice with seafood in the Yu Chu, Chinese restaurant of the Intercontinental Hotel in the afternoon because of time factor. At night, we chose Ngoc Tho based on the recommendation, we found the taste of all the foods we ordered was really fantastic especially after comparing the same fried rice with seafood by Ngoc Tho. In Yu Chu, the quality of food just like drinking water not appealing enough. Although the street the restaurant situates at is not glamorous but decent and full of other restaurants and bars. Go there and you will not regret for it is the first time I do enjoy very much even a simple dish of fried rice. The toufu with tomato is also tasty and the spring rolls.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“solid restaurant, especially for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant at least 100 times, and I've never had a bad dish. It has been hard to find quality vegetarian restaurants in Vietnam (although that seems to be changing in Saigon, at least), but this one has real food that you can eat every day. The staff is friendly, attentive, helpful, and they can handle a number of languages reasonably well. It also seems to be very popular with Vietnamese people on the special days when Buddhists eat vegetarian.

Great variety, good prices, low-key atmosphere on a side street right in the heart of the District 1 Quan Nhat district. You can eat western or sample any number of Vietnamese dishes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bookron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongcheng
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice budget vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the place where to find the original Vietnamese food. Better to go there with Vietnamese people in order to avoid "tourist" mistakes ordering the food.
Waiters speak little English so it is not easy to understand eachother.
By the way it has a very nice atmosphere and provide very good food.
Reccomandable!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele_Contardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food! Vegie Curry is delicious! Plenty of options!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I are both vegetarians and thanks to trip advisor, found vegie paradise! This place has the best vegetarian food in Ho Chi Minh. Prices are reasonable, atmosphere relaxed and food is delightful. So many options and the vegetarian curry is the nicest dish we had during our stay. Not fancy but fantastic. Staff are friendly and menu is extensive ... Vegie options cover soups, curries, Mexican, mock meat dishes, and much more. Outstanding choice for vegetarians!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tharnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngoc Tho also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ngoc Tho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing