We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travels beware”
Review of Mai Kim Loan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mai Kim Loan Hotel
Ranked #313 of 1,000 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I would consider this hotel at best a 1 star rating. There were only two positive comments, the location and the receptionist. We booked this hotel online, which they claimed they never received or the price listed on the website was wrong. Therefore, they tried to double our original price from $20 US dollars to $40 US dollars when we checked out. They would not gave us our passports back until we paid them their asking price. We discussed the problem with the owner, but she was very hostile. And after some intense negotiation (to a point where we wanted to call the local police), we cave-in and offered to pay $30 US dollar a night and after the owner insulted her staff, she agreed. What a horrible experience, live and learn. You can do better!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We first stayed at Mai Kim Loan in 2009 on our first trip to Vietnam. It was recommended to us by Vietnamese friends and we found the hotel a great place for our first visit. It is located western fringe of District 1 about 5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market and a similar distance to the backpacker area. Because of the location, we were close to many of the key attractions of Saigon's District 1 but also with plenty of breathing space.

The hotel is a good standard 2 star affair - big rooms, comfortable beds and a very hospitable family to look after you - get a balcony room to take in the mayhem of Ly Tu Trung st below.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivanasnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank RedSkins41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Parisina_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,833 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#66 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#49 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Kim Loan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Kim Loan Hotel

Address: 224 Ly Tu Trong St | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 1,000 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $30 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Kim Loan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mai Kim Loan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing