We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to the market! The Chef is fun and interesting”

Saigon Cooking Class
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Saigon Cooking Class's Chefs propose cooking class and street food tour!! For adventurous people hop on the back of ours scooters and let our Chef guide you across Saigon's hidden alleys to sample the best of local delicacies. Go the market with your Chef to buy necessary ingredients for your class, then head back to the kitchen to learn how to prepare a selection of traditional and contemporary Vietnamese dishes. This is a great immersion experience.From Tuesday till Sunday, cooking class twice a day.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go to the market! The Chef is fun and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I would have given this four stars if we hadn't have gone to the market. It's a relatively early morning at 8.45 but so worth it, as you buy produce from the market from a local's perspective. Highly recommended 5 stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PollyannaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    72
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like cooking you will love this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Took part in the Saigon Cooking Course on our last day in HCM City. You can start early with a walk round the market to buy food or, as we did, skip that bit and start at 10 in the restaurant itself. There were about 15 of us on the course mostly from the USA, Australia and the UK. We were presented with all the ingredients to make three courses (Fresh spring roles, green mango salad with BBQ chicken, and fried rice with lotus seeds) Each course was prepared seperately and we were so well taught, that we all ended up with very decent looking and tasting dishes, which we got to eat as they were prepared. The whole thing took 3 hours and as they gave us the recipes at the end, I can't wait to try this at home. All in all a very entertaining and instructive morning. Highly recommended if you like cooking and far eastern cuisine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank rleg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this cooking class! The food we prepared was amazing and the staff was so friendly, patient, and helpful! We also had dinner the following night at the restaurant downstairs and were very impressed!

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant family activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to Ho Chi Minh in August and spent a morning at the Saigon cookin class by hoa tuc. We met chef Khang at the bin thanh market first where he took us on a tour of the food market and explained a lot of the items. Then it was back to the restaurant/school for our cookery lesson. We are a family of 4 and the children are 18yrs & 20 yrs old, and we all had a brilliant time learning how to prepare as well as eat the meals we cooked, the kids thought it was a really good experience and would definitely do again. We did go back to restaurant for a meal before we left, good idea to book and we sat outside. Staff were brilliant in explaining how to eat/mix items together and the meal was very good. Definitely recommend school and restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Tidy and well organized, I would have give 5 starts if it was not for the formality of the course. There is not much interaction, but things are explained clearly. The results where definitely great and made easy by the assistants and the preparation.
I suggest it to everyone who likes food and wants to spend a nice afternoon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Cooking Class also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing