We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete waste of time”

Ho Chi Minh City Museum
Attraction details
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Complete waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is probably the worst museum I've ever been to. There are like 6 small rooms with some dolls and minimum information to read. Nothing worth to be seen, really, don't waste your time and money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    163
    199
    68
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toolamba, victoria
Level Contributor
165 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Ok for an hour or two, but there are probably better museums elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

To find the HCMC Museum, we walked out of the Rex Hotel (where we'd had an overpriced beer and then bailed), past Uncle Ho (who guards the Old Hotel DeVille), made a couple of turns and followed the boundary fence around till we arrived at the front gate. A tout out the front selling chilled coconut helpfully pointed us towards the War Remnants Museum. Thanks, but we want to go here first we said.

The HCMC Museum is set in a grand old French Colonial building with chandeliers (look up as well as down) in every room and a staircase so solid that it may outlast religion. The entry fee was about 15,000 dong each. Inside, the museum is split into themes but generally showcases Vietnamese culture and history. Without ever really capturing our attention or interest, we managed to while away an hour or so at the museum. I'd recommend it for the history buffs who want a quick introduction to Vietnam, but it doesn't seem to do anything with excellence.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keiramoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A disappointing visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Another run down museum! Personally I would not recommend it. Better to visit the History Museum which costs the same & is more interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandMichele007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
575 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Not real thrilling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

but when you find one or two things that spark your interest or memories, then it was worth it. When I was young, 50 years ago, we lived in Japan as my dad finished his last tour of duty overseas. For birthdays and holidays we'd get the greatest technology gifts that were so far advanced and cooler than anything in the US. Inside this museum were replicas of little spy cameras (we called them that at least) that my brothers and I had. There were some pretty nice old bikes as well with very well used panniers! Lady in the gift shop was very nice. I bought a bunch of book markers for what seemed to be about .10 cents each.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the more mediocre museums in Vietnam”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Unless you're an incredibly hardcore archaeology or anthropology buff, this museum can likely be skipped. If you are one of the above, you'll likely be frustrated by the lack of organization and descriptions. So likely still worth skipping.

The museum was deserted when we visited (unlike the Reunification Palace and War Remnants Museums) -- we understood why after venturing inside.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lunpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ho Chi Minh City Museum also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ho Chi Minh City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing