We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun N' Sea Travel

Sun N' Sea Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Cai Be Floating Market, Sa Dec Town and Mekong Queen Cruise Day Trip from Ho...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

After reading the indifferent reviews we thought we'd still go as we are very unfussy people and tend to find most people find faults in places or attractions that we really like.

HOWEVER this trip was terrible. We did the 1 day trip through Vietnam adventure tours visiting a coconut candy store, honeybee farm, disabled workshop, and 'tropical fruit place'.

Oh dear just writing this makes me cringe. It is all about taking you places to buy things. You actually spend about 30mins in total on the water and see very little. It is not a mekong delta tour at all.
Please do not waste your time or money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    93
    49
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very touristy but a good trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did the one day Mekong Delta tour with Asiania travelmate and, although yes it's obviously set up for tourists and very processed, we had a fun day all the same. Jun, our guide, was lovely and it was good to talk to him about his family and life in Saigon. We didn't find we were too hassled to give tips to everyone, once to the woman on the boat and a little to the singers/musicians but we didn't really mind. The people we shared the trip with were all good fun and just once in a while it's ok to go with the tourist flow.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RSB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta Tour more like a processing factory”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the very same problem with these lot TNK travel and NamTrip, felt like I was been processed through a series stages, everything was very rushed and the itinerary was made as we went along instead of sticking to what we paid for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta Tour Companies to Avoid - Nam Trip Travel and TNK Travel Vietnam”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

In January 2013, myself and my partner booked a trip to the Mekong Delta with Nam Trip Travel (28/1 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, HCMC) who work with TNK Travel Vietnam (220 De Tham Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam).

In total, we paid 1,700,000 VND (81 USD) for two nights and three days which included the new "exclusive" trip to the Chaudoc, Tra Su Forest. We were told by the sweet and kind tour operators that we would visit the largest floating market, smaller floating market and visit Sam Mountain plus some other activities like visiting a crocodile farm. Also, they told us we would depart each morning at 8am as I specified I didn’t want to get up at 6am. Lastly, they told us if we were not satisfied with our trip they would refund us.

What really happened on the tour was that we didn’t visit the largest floating market, Sam Mountain, and the crocodile farm. Each stop was aimed at souvenir shops rather than providing us an insight into life on the Mekong Delta. Each morning we were up at 6am and departed between 6.30-6.45am. When I raised this with the tour guide (TNK Travel Vietnam) he said “must have been a misprint on the tour trip leaflet” even thought the tour operators told me otherwise.

As regards the hotel and accommodation, it was really poor. The first there was ants on my blanket and on the second night, our room smelled of damp plus there were no bed sheets, just dirty blankets. I asked the hotel staff for a bed sheet, she said they had none in the hotel and gave me another torn blanket. The next day another tourist who had two children with him said he demanded bed sheets from the staff, they refused at the start then when the guest persisted they eventually took out a big bag of sheets and gave one to him. Then the lunch was a bit of cold old tough pork with rice. If you wanted anything else you had to pay a larger amount for that.
Overall, the staff lied to us and they just don’t seem to care about basic customer service at all.
The guide thought it would be entertaining to take a python snake out of a sack and wrap it around himself and other tourists. This poor animal shouldn’t have been used as a tour prop.

The tour operators misrepresented the tour and had no interest in addressing our issues until I told them I'll write an online review at which they offered the total sum of $10 to not write the review. Obviously we were upset by this treatment especially when the tour operators (Nam Trip Travel) acted all sweet and sincere to begin with.

Our advice is if you visit the Mekong Delta, do it independently by taking a bus to Can Tho. Spend a couple of nights there and book the boat trip down at the riverfront yourself. If you take a 3 night trip with a tour company you drive for over 7 hours on the last day and do these unnecessary activities so you will buy souvenirs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mangrove & monkey island disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked for an Eco style tour of the mangrove forest and monkey island with croc farm and long boat ride to guerrilla camp in the mangroves with STA travel. The full day tour could actually be done in half a day. The monkeys are very habituated to humans. We were warned to hold tight to cameras etc but they wanted to sell food to feed them perpetuating the behaviours. One person was bitten on the arm trying to brush a monkey that was ransacking his pockets.

The boat ride and guerrilla camp were very interesting. The lunch at The Carrot Restuarant was awfull, the worst food we have experienced in the country. The afternoon was free for a swim or look at local shops. We went back to Saigon after a short walk on the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun N' Sea Travel also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Sun N' Sea Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing