We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mekong River trip not worth the money”
Review of Sun N' Sea Travel

Sun N' Sea Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
SAIGON CYCLO ROUND and DINNER ON BONSAI CRUISE
Meru, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mekong River trip not worth the money”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are from M'sia so there's nothing new about strolling along the river. We went to My Tho (no floating market). Mekong river is so dirty and the color of the water is brown!

Went to fruit garden where there were singing performance and asked money after they sang. Went to drink honey tea and were forced to buy honey and tea. Even the aunty who took us strolling along the river asked for tips!

We also were forced to pay tips to the bus driver and tourist guide even though we already paid for the one day trip.

Horrible experience and certainly will not recommend people to go!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nuryna86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    93
    49
    32
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous day trip.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Trip to Mekong Delta/Ben Tre was an excellent day trip rendezvous with the outdoors.There were boat rides,big and small.Visit to candy manufacturing and sumptuous lunch.Entertainment with live Vietnamese songs.Chance to hold a python.Travel in a horse carriage.All in jungle environment.A must do.

Helpful?
4 Thank Docjari18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this through Kuoni and thoroughly enjoyed this, We had our own tour guide and driver for the two of us. our tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided us with a good insight to the area. We got picked up at our hotel and drove down (90 minutes approx).
Firstly we had a boat ride across the river to a fruit farm before going on a horse and cart to a traditional sweet factory. We then got a traditional boat ride through a shaded river before getting the large boat back to shore.
We then stopped for lunch which was traditional and very good in a beautiful setting. Drinks had to be paid for but were very cheap.
Really good trip and good value for money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Floating markets & Island hopping”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

At HCMC, you must not miss the most popular and important landmark for the locals, the Mekong Delta. There are many tour trips for this river, from one day to 3 days. 1 day may be too short, 3 days may be too long. I did the 2 days and I was glad I did. The first day usually starts off early from your hostel in the city and it's a long travel to the Mekong Delta area. If you are doing one day trip, they will most probably bring you to the island hopping tour. On this tour, you will hop on to different boats to take you to different islands, the coconut candy, the honey producing, the fruit producing etc. That will end your day's trip. If you are hoping to see the floating market, it's best to have the 2 days trip since the market is highly "active" in the early morning. The market starts as early as 3-4am so you need to stay at the province and your tour guide will get you up early next morning to go on the Mekong Delta tour to visit the floating market, which is really an interesting view if you have never seen the one at Thailand. After that, you will be brought on a visit to the rice and rice paper mills nearby. Worth a visit! 2 days is just right and not in a rush!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good trip but too expensive”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you have the time , you could do this cheaper but if you don't mind paying £70, then go for it. You get lunch, but it isn't that good, you also get drinks ( cold tea, and soft drinks)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peterhardy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun N' Sea Travel also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Sun N' Sea Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing