We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Guest House
Ranked #21 of 768 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this guesthouse for two nights during high season in January and had a wonderful experience. The owner is extremely accommodating and helpful, he even let us shower in his own bathroom when we had to come back to gt out luggage after we checked out. The rooms were very clean and spacious and it's located in an alleyway close to many good restaurants. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starryeyed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    62
    27
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
81
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good neighborhood ( very Nice to see All the local people taking their breakfast in the morning in the alley). Very good value ( just don t expect elevator, soap and shampoo or breakfast. But once again consider the price). Very helpful staff ( Airport transfer 15 dollars, help with the luggage). Nice place to stay !

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank French_in_Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had two separate reservations here for the beginning and end of our trip to Vietnam. The first time, we arrived quite late at night only to be told that there was no room for us there (reservations obviously mean nothing). We were quickly put at another guesthouse down the alley that was somewhat old, dirty, and uncomfortable. We paid the same price to stay there, and we were forced to pay in cash rather than card (Mai takes cards, but this place didn't).

On our second trip, we did have a room in the guesthouse, but it was extremely tiny. They don't provide any soap, which is kind of a bummer. The bed made our backs hurt, and the linens were somewhat lacking, I'm afraid. The wifi was spotty. Luckily, it was much cleaner than our prior accommodations.

The owner is quite nice and helpful. He looks out for his guests and gives decent restaurant recommendations. There is free coffee and tea downstairs in the morning, which is nice. The location is also nice, and there is plenty to do, see, and eat close by. Overall, I would say that a few small changes would make this place a most welcoming place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wellhellsbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Mai Guest House is located down a typical pedestrian alley in the backpacker district. The neighborhood is safe enough and well located to walk to a strip of restaurants. The guest house is new and the English speaking owner is helpful.

Our room was fine but Parisian style small...the kind where you have to put the suitcase on the bed to open the frigobar. But for the price (around $16 for a couple), who expects a presidential suite!

This is definitely a great value for a short stay in HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maskotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had booked a standard room but was uppgraded to a better room which was very nice. The hosts were very helpfull. The place was manager by the owner, his wife and his mother. His sister did the cleaning. My room was spotless, not very big, but more then good enough for one. nice bathroom and even a little balcony overlooking The front street or alley. The owner was very helpful getting me trainticket to Hanoi at no overprice, and also the price for the sightseeingtours he offered were very good priced. The place is in the middle of the backpackerdistrict, a bit loud and noisy, but a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms here are clean and quite reasonably priced for HCMC. They also have all the amenities you would expect. My only quibble is that the room we took was very small. It was not easy for two people to move around effectively. We only stayed one night so it was not a big problem, but longer stays would require am upgrade to a larger and quite a bit more expensive room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregandGuylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I am just back from HCMC and stayed in this guest house for 5 nights. It is family run and the owner was very helpful in providing insights to the nice local (and cheap) food as well as the city attractions. The location is perfect for backpackers and there are many tour agencies restaurants, and pubs within 5 minutes walk. The city attractions e.g. Notre Dame Cathedral, War Remnant Museum, Independence Palace and Ben Thanh market are 15 -30 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hianyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#20 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#21 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
#2 of 768 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Hotel
Town House 50 Hotel
#3 of 768 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#10 of 768 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
#9 of 768 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Guest House

Property: Mai Guest House
Address: 41 241, Pham Ngu Lao St. | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 768 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing