We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality”
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My friends and I arrived in HCMC at 10PM, exhausted after a fifteen hour bus trip. We had little time before needing to take an early morning bus to a distant beach. We didn't know how to book this in advance and it was the holidays. I dropped an email to the hotel inquiring about it the night before checking in.

When we arrived at the hotel, the cheerful owner greeted us and let us know she had reserved us the last four seats on a bus to our destination the next morning. She showed us to two great, cool, comfy rooms and let us know she would keep her restaurant open for us so we could have a hot dinner. After a great dinner and night of sleep, the owner had our breakfast made and ready for us at dawn, before arranging a taxi to our new bus and speaking with the driver to ensure a fair price.

Could not have had a better experience. The owner knows how to treat her guests!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank BCalv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 527 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Room is worth the money. Clean & Comfortable. It's location is not in the heart of down town, away from it, surrounded by local Vietnamese residents and giving you quite an experience. It is not too far from down town as well, just 45 mins walk or there are bikers / taxis a call away. People are friendly and always there to help even with language barrier.

Room Tip: Add extra bugs and choose one with bath tub and buy some pampering for yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kechiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Saigon. The rooms are very clean, the staff very helpful, and the restaurant up top is a great place to have a drink at the end of the day. We have been traveling in Vietnam for seven weeks, always staying in hotels under $20, and this is the cleanest we have been to.

Also, the owner, Phu, is very helpful with everything you need; whether helping us with a taxi cab driver that overcharged us or booking cheap tours for us.

We highly recommend Minh Chau!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I rarely write a review but in this particular case I am so compelled to do so. The owner and staff at this hotel are the kindest and most helpful I have ever experienced anywhere that I've stayed. The rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant on the top floor has phenomenal food at fantastic prices. If you are staying in Ho Chi Minh then I highly recommend you experience this wonderful place for yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveGuitarTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I can't express how incredible the staff at this hotel are. Me and two friends arrived in Ho Chi Minh city with 2 nights booked in this hotel with absolutely no idea what we were going to do over our 2 week trip.
Phu (the manager) sat with us and gave us countless pieces of advice on where to travel, what to see and how long we should stay in each place. She helped us book hotels, taxis, buses and various other things even while we were in other cities. She will not hesitate to go out of her way to help you.
I would add that this was the only place in Vietnam where I was offered anything for free. She even loaned us some money when we ran short on Vietnam Dong for our taxi to the airport. I can't stress enough how rare that is in this country!

The rooms were simple and effective and the food was excellent. Best Coffee in Vietnam, hands down.

Don't book this hotel for the rooms or facilities - book this hotel because Phu + Staff will Ensure you get the absolute maximum out of your trip and keep you safe.

Phu, my trip wouldn't have been half as good without you! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel offers a great slice of life in the city at rates that cannot be beaten. The staff are absolutely fantastic, and will do anything to help you. I had made an error with my booking at another hotel which they helped me sort out immediately. They will also sort you out for some bargain priced tours and the food is really great. Lots of secure space in a wardrobe you can padlock, Wifi is free and there are lots of places to eat nearby and a little mart on the street for anything you want to get yourself to eat or drink. I spent a few pleasant evenings drinking beers on the balcony and watching the street below. This is a wonderful experience for anyone visiting on a budget, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to stay there again myself.

Room Tip: As it's already inexpensive to stay here, I'd recommend booking the largest room with the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmo_Keep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having trawled through hundreds of hotels in Ho Chi Minh which just all looked identikit I stumbled across Minh Chau and I am so so pleased that I did. The rooms are simple but very clean but the roof terrace is just a delight. The lady who runs it Phu couldn't have been more helpful. It is only a 15 min cab ride to District 1 and there is a taxi company next door so always very easy and you knew you could trust them not to overcharge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#97 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $17 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing