We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I like it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #21 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms are super clean and comfortable. Super friendly and helpful staff. I don't mind walking to places and enjoyed seeing more Vietnamese on the way there. Walked there from the train station (10 min) & best of all: strong wifi in the rooms. I'd stay here again. also, check out pho 129 & restaurent Serento, food and drink shop 24/7 which are really close to there.

I asked hotel the pivk-up service, they gave me two choices : picking -up or took taxi myself with hotel manager cellphone number to avoid the taxi went around . Taxi cost About 6 -7 usd drive cab from the airport to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    141
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
162
82
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I and my girlfriend stayed at Minh Chau hotel for about 3 nights, when we visited Sai Gon. The hotel is somewhere in between the airport and downtown, but it is closer to downtown Sai Gon. The staff there is very friendly and the manager is a very nice woman, her English good and she always give us advises before we traveled somewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here 3 times in the last 5 years. Great value for a great price!! The staff are very kind and helpfull and the owner is very friendfull too!! Eveytime when i'm back i stay in the rooms with the balconies, the best rooms!
It's a great location with all the things u need. Every morning u have 'cafe sua da' alongside the streets... Thats what the locals do!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nghiahuynh1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay. Free wifi, clean sheets and towels. Located near train station. 100-150k dong ride to intl airport. Rooftop restaurant with nice view. Will try to work with your budget if not full. Loud noises in morning but overall very pleasant and I would and have recommended to other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabazab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The most impressive thing about this hotel is its amazing vast and kitch yet fascinating roof top garden. It seems to have engulfed three bulidings so there is an interesting void where you can seee to other levels. It is quite unusual. The cafe on the roof served good food and there was a vast range of seating and table options. It even has rocking chairs. It looks as though the roof opens too. Its big enough to have a wedding reception there. However its not a luxury hotel. I even had a large cockroach in the bathroom. But the hotel is quite well maintained and clean, and the location suited our needs. It has nice modern lift which meant I could get a room with a balcony. I can't do stairs so this is my first question when booking. And though the towels are a bit worn and thin they are absorbent and dry quickly. There was a hygiene kit for each person and plenty of bottled water in the fridge. The staff are friendly and some have enough English to get by. I asked them not to service my room each day which seemed to be understood. We go out all day so our needs are simple and the beds were more comfortable than most in VN. Even expensive hotels usually have mattresses as hard as latex bricks but these were kind on my aching old western bones. I also liked the rich warm dark timber doors. The paint work and tiling was also in good condition and the building had some interesting features. It may be only two stars but I liked its quirky authenticity. Cafe Sorrento is near by in one direction and another lovely bar/restaurant is round the corner in the other direction. We booked fir five nights at thirty dollars a night. Good value I say.

Room Tip: Many configurations. We chose smaller with balcony rather than spacious but no balcony. Ask them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and good review for MINH CHAU hotel.

Wish you all the best and look forward to serving you, the family & friends again soon.

Best regards,
Alex - Hotel manager
Minh Chau hotel - Ho Chi Minh city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed here some time ago - about 3 years ago and found it quite good. (The drop down for dates doesn't go back that far) At the time the staff did not speak much English but the owner was available by mobile phone and always contacted me if I rang her and missed her. It was in more of a suburban area and had a nice feel to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and good review for MINH CHAU hotel.

Wish you all the best and look forward to serving you, the family & friends again soon.

Best regards,
Alex - Hotel manager
Minh Chau hotel - Ho Chi Minh city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Minh Chau is an awful place to stay. My family went there for 1 night.
We arrived at dinner-time and were made to wait 25 minutes for the staff to finish eating.
I was refused use of the safe to store my money and passports - they said my fold was too big !
The hotel is NOT CLOSE TO THE TRAIN STATION!!!!
The water was boiling hot or cold. The door handles were not all working,
We were refused access to the roof-garden as we didn't buy food there - we paid for the room - we paid for drinks in the roof bar - then were sent to our room!!
The owner prowled outside at check-out time and started tapping on the door the moment the clock struck 10. We had arranged a late check-out but this was forgotten and we were charged extra.
The water and coffee were not free despite the sign on the fridge saying "water and coffee free"
The hotel is locked down at 10 - I was in the street with sewer-rats and stray dogs for an hour as I rang the bell again and again - luckily a neighbour saw me and telephoned them.
The list goes on and on - I have been travelling for 25 years and this place is the worst!
DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ozkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear my valued guest

I have read your review and found that our previous owner & thier staff at that day may go wrong to your holiday that you unhappy at all.

I am new hotel manager and i would like to email you for now that all the issue that you faced it, now solved and we are now confident that we could serve you at best with 100% satisfactiion guarantee. Pls give us the chance to serve you to make your trip new pleasant stay in Ho Chi Minh city again.

On behafl of all hotel staff, we are sorry and look foward to seeing & serving you again with the 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Regards,
Alex - "new" hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#30 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#11 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#45 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#18 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#61 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Property: Minh Chau Hotel
Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing