We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Two stars but it has a lot going for it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minh Chau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minh Chau Hotel
Ranked #29 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Two stars but it has a lot going for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The most impressive thing about this hotel is its amazing vast and kitch yet fascinating roof top garden. It seems to have engulfed three bulidings so there is an interesting void where you can seee to other levels. It is quite unusual. The cafe on the roof served good food and there was a vast range of seating and table options. It even has rocking chairs. It looks as though the roof opens too. Its big enough to have a wedding reception there. However its not a luxury hotel. I even had a large cockroach in the bathroom. But the hotel is quite well maintained and clean, and the location suited our needs. It has nice modern lift which meant I could get a room with a balcony. I can't do stairs so this is my first question when booking. And though the towels are a bit worn and thin they are absorbent and dry quickly. There was a hygiene kit for each person and plenty of bottled water in the fridge. The staff are friendly and some have enough English to get by. I asked them not to service my room each day which seemed to be understood. We go out all day so our needs are simple and the beds were more comfortable than most in VN. Even expensive hotels usually have mattresses as hard as latex bricks but these were kind on my aching old western bones. I also liked the rich warm dark timber doors. The paint work and tiling was also in good condition and the building had some interesting features. It may be only two stars but I liked its quirky authenticity. Cafe Sorrento is near by in one direction and another lovely bar/restaurant is round the corner in the other direction. We booked fir five nights at thirty dollars a night. Good value I say.

Room Tip: Many configurations. We chose smaller with balcony rather than spacious but no balcony. Ask them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and good review for MINH CHAU hotel.

Wish you all the best and look forward to serving you, the family & friends again soon.

Best regards,
Alex - Hotel manager
Minh Chau hotel - Ho Chi Minh city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    131
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
152
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I stayed here some time ago - about 3 years ago and found it quite good. (The drop down for dates doesn't go back that far) At the time the staff did not speak much English but the owner was available by mobile phone and always contacted me if I rang her and missed her. It was in more of a suburban area and had a nice feel to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and good review for MINH CHAU hotel.

Wish you all the best and look forward to serving you, the family & friends again soon.

Best regards,
Alex - Hotel manager
Minh Chau hotel - Ho Chi Minh city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeonju, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Minh Chau is an awful place to stay. My family went there for 1 night.
We arrived at dinner-time and were made to wait 25 minutes for the staff to finish eating.
I was refused use of the safe to store my money and passports - they said my fold was too big !
The hotel is NOT CLOSE TO THE TRAIN STATION!!!!
The water was boiling hot or cold. The door handles were not all working,
We were refused access to the roof-garden as we didn't buy food there - we paid for the room - we paid for drinks in the roof bar - then were sent to our room!!
The owner prowled outside at check-out time and started tapping on the door the moment the clock struck 10. We had arranged a late check-out but this was forgotten and we were charged extra.
The water and coffee were not free despite the sign on the fridge saying "water and coffee free"
The hotel is locked down at 10 - I was in the street with sewer-rats and stray dogs for an hour as I rang the bell again and again - luckily a neighbour saw me and telephoned them.
The list goes on and on - I have been travelling for 25 years and this place is the worst!
DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ozkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear my valued guest

I have read your review and found that our previous owner & thier staff at that day may go wrong to your holiday that you unhappy at all.

I am new hotel manager and i would like to email you for now that all the issue that you faced it, now solved and we are now confident that we could serve you at best with 100% satisfactiion guarantee. Pls give us the chance to serve you to make your trip new pleasant stay in Ho Chi Minh city again.

On behafl of all hotel staff, we are sorry and look foward to seeing & serving you again with the 100% satisfaction guarantee.

Regards,
Alex - "new" hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor with a price promotion. First I thought the cheap price comes with moderate quality service, but I was totally surprised by Minh Chau hotel's hospitality and professional service. This hotel has a wonderful terrace coffee with delicious foods. Affordable price and good quality !

Room Tip: booking ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barney1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Manager at Minh Chau Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2015
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and good review for MINH CHAU hotel.

Wish you all the best and look forward to serving you, the family & friends again soon.

Best regards,
Alex - Hotel manager
Minh Chau hotel - Ho Chi Minh city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#23 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.5 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#26 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#30 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#39 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#42 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#65 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minh Chau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minh Chau Hotel

Property: Minh Chau Hotel
Address: 119 Hoa Hung street, P.12, Q. 10, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minh Chau Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minh Chau Hotel - 2 stars Our Minh Chau hotel - 2 stars has 30 elevator accessible air-conditioned rooms fitted with classic wood furnishings. Rooms feature Vietnamese-style decor with a fridge and cable TV. The en-suite bathroom features hot water a shower and free toiletries. The hotel is decorated with indoor plants and greenery, with the rooftop restaurant providing a cozy environment during meal times. Take in view of the surroundings from to floor-to-ceiling windows while dining. Our restaurant is capable of hosting your events after discussing with management. LOCATION ( important notice, please read carefully before booking ): Minh Chau Hotel is in the center of Ho Chi Minh city, 5km from airport, 750m from Train Station, just 3km to the downtown where you will find Ben Thanh market, Bui Vien / Pham Ngu Lao backpacker area, war museum, central post office, Reunification Palace, and Notre Dame Cathedral. Close enough to enjoy all the features of downtown, but just enough distance to leave it all behind to have a quiet night's rest with truly local life style - far from crowded noisy tourist streets - ( taking you about 60,000 VND by taxi from hotel to the all the mentioned tourist sites ). The Hotel rooms are good, spacious, with competitive pricing compared to similar hotels in the downtown area with rates up to 50% lower. Mitsubishi elevator accesses to all rooms. We are located in a very secure area with local Government Buildings nearby. You came to Vietnam, so make sure you enjoy the real Vietnam. This area is a traditional Vietnamese neighborhood featuring many cafes, restaurants and shops in a traditional/ non-touristy environment. The food in these restaurants and cafes are very traditional, with a few featuring english menus. You will be treated fair as a real local when it comes to fair trade and pricing, with no need to negotiate on prices. Our staff is willing to help you with any questions or services you may require. This is a wonderful area for travellers who wish to experience and explore new and amazing things from the perspective of real live local traditional Vietnamese neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Minh Chau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing