We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Saigon Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
InterContinental Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$141
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$154
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$165
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$130
$93
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sanouva Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$47
$37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caravelle Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$154
$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$105
$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$320
$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
98
26
4
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
26
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson a daily basisbui vienamazing locationrooms are clean and comfortablea great place to staytanghostssaigonvietnamstreetdistricttours
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 134 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We should a disclaimer that we did not stay at this place and therefore cannot comment on the quality of the accommodation. However, we did stop here for a meal and we were greatly disappointed. We have been in the country for over two weeks and have eaten some great local food. Unfortunately this place delivered our worst meal to date. We only ordered starters, namely fresh spring rolls, Vietnamese pancake and fried spring rolls. All were bland with little or no flavour. The fried spring rolls were also overly greasy. These issues would be easily fixed though the use of more chilli, fresh herbs and local produce. We were tempted not to pay for our meal, but rather we paid and went somewhere else for dinner. We do not like to give poor reviews and we hope that the restaurant will be able to use this feedback to improve the quality of their meals. I would also like to state that we had no issues with the service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansding, Owner at Royal Saigon Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hi Kylie, first about taste, everyone has a different taste, you probably like food having a stronger taste than we serve (i have the same) , but we are going to try to make it more tasteful by experimenting with some more fresh herbs. More chili not though, as not everyone likes spicy. Instead we will add chili separate. As for paying, we have one rule, if anything is not right, the customer does not pay, so next time please tell us. If ever you come back i owe you one free meal.
Regards Hans Dingerdis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for 10 days over the xmas and new year period. Took the $14 per night room, prices range from $14 to $24. very clean, quiet, all singing dancing shower, flat screen tv, A/C, computor in room. a gem of a place. Hans and all the staff so helpful. The restuarant below serves good quality, large portions,value for money authentic viatmanese food. Situated in the heart of the backpacker area but you would never know from inside. Again all the staff so friendly and proffesional, Will be returning!

Room Tip: Stayed in the da lat room, no noise, ample storage, clean and well seviced
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65maintenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed there for a night before onward up north. Arrived on X'mas day in the late afternoon and I was promptly attended to when I arrived. The first floor where you check in and check out is a restaurant, second floor is somewhat of an office/computer terminals/printing/faxing machines are available and the third floor onwards would be the guest rooms. My room was worth it, had an old computer for use, and there was hot water in the shower. The staff were helpful with carrying my bags upstairs. Downside: They do not have free map for the surroundings, the private bathroom had no curtain although there was a sliding door. It was a see through window- you can basically see your bed while you use the bathroom.

Although they stated there was a safe deposit box as advertised, there was none in my room after searching my room for it. The air conditioning was leaking all the time when turned on and I had to use extra towels (besides the floor towel) to soak up the mess but luckily there was a ceiling fan which I used for the night. No lifts so be prepared to use your strength to carry your bags. The room key had a huge thin circular plastic key chain attached to it which does not fit in your pocket-- take out the key and attach it to your own key ring when you head out which would make it easier to conceal/keep then put it back into the key chain when you return the key.

Room Tip: The cheapest room (SAPA) has only a tiny window looking out to the corridor, but there is a curtain to cover up.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

In the middle of the buzz and fuzz . you get a good sleep here ( double glazing does the trick )

Whe stayed here al total off 4 nights over a 2,5 week period .

The owner is dutch but that don`t influed us you don`t see him that often. Staff is verry friendly and punctual.Rooms are good and verry complete : flatscreen / computers / multi angle shower etc.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms =watch and enjoy the street @ night.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michielstroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Having to review on the bed n breakfast listing as despite the restaurant advertising a huge 'recommended by tripadvisor' sign out front they dont appear to be listed under restaurants! Very misleading as people trust tripadvisor accreditations (as we did) on face value!

We arrived at around 8:50pm, it was pretty busy but we managed to snag a front table. Order swiftly and settled into our people watching.

15 minutes later our water arrived which should have rung alarm bells really 15 mins for a bottle of water!

As 9:30 approached still no sign of even the noodle soup started we decided to check on the timescale.....five minutes....

I then noticed that a family of four who arrived after us (and the four other tables still waitimg for food who had been there longer than us) had been fed and were paying...bizarre!

My friends soup eventually arrived at 9:45 almost an hour after arriving! Then the couple in front got one meal (they were there before us) ten mins later the other one got their order with mine and half the table behinds order following after another 5 mins!

The food was actually ok but after waiting over an hour id have eaten anything!

Dont go here if in a rush! Not so much as a 10% bill discount to compensate.

Whe we left there were still people waiting on food....probably still there now....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hansding, Owner at Royal Saigon Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

You were totally right about the very very slow service. Should not have happened. The only reason was that from the 4 people normally working in the kitchen 2 called in the afternoon that they could not come. 2 staff is by far not enough when it is busy, and it was very very busy that day. Again, sorry, have a free diner next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews