We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Love the food here, but get there early to beat the crowd otherwise it is becomes uncomfortably noisy. Atmosphere is lacking as they cram too many tables in and you are on top of each other, Pricey also, but for me, worth every penny. Love the food and enjoy early dinners in peace! Will be going back......PS....caramel vodka rocks!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    145
    52
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“has to be one of the best steackhouse in town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

went there twice and the steaks were amazing!!! really nice food with a nice range of steaks to choose from and had a few side dishes to share to make it perfect (many other dishes to choose from on the menu but only had steaks :) )
there is on in the Phu my hung area (hope that the right spelling) and another one in district 1. I have been to both of them and the food was really good in both
very friendly owner who's open for a chat with customers.
Cant really comment on the price as it was a business dinner and all paid for but from memory it was reasonnably priced for quality imported meat.
If you like a good steak definitly go check it out!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clement974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Filet Mignon in District 7”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Discovered this great steakhouse restaurant in District 7, of Saigon.

Beautifully located by the modern, luxurious Crescent Mall, El Gaucho is my place of choice whenever craving for a good Filet Mignon while in Vietnam.

It stands among other restaurants facing the man-made lake which makes the Crescent Mall my chosen area whenever I feel like going for a nice, evening out.

Known for their Argentinian theme, the décor is cool, modern and inviting. You can either eat at the patio or inside the restaurant. Right away, this place grabs your attention because of its modern, warm décor and the Argentinian music you can hear coming from the restaurant.

The food isn’t cheap here, especially the Filet Mignon. But they offer a large range of different types of meat (Filet Mignon, Ribeye, etc) from different countries (Australia, USDA, etc), with different ounzage (250g, 350g, 500g). And though it is on the pricey side (for Vietnam), if you don’t each much, you can always share with another person and find great value in it, as the meat is of excellent quality.

We therefore had the perfectly cooked Filet Mignon with an arugula salad whose dressing was excellent (though the salad was a little bit too drenched of sauce, so I recommend that you ask for it on the side).

Customer service here is pretty good, though for some strange visit, on our second visit, it took 4 waiters to understand that we wanted added ice cubes to our water (not keep pouring iced-cold water in the glass).

Definitely a place I would recommend if you are craving for some read meat. I hear they have another location in another district, if District 7 is too far. I’ve only been to the one in District 7 and I like it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Found it by accident and loved it – Excellent”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I found the El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse restaurant by accident and I am glad I did because they have the best cut filet I ever tasted, the quality of the meat and the preparation were perfect. The really tasty meat is accompanied by a fine selection of wines which in my opinion simply means excellent service. The appetizers (empanadas and chorizo) were pretty good too. I’d say that the two starters, steaks and two glasses of Spanish wine worth every penny. The restaurant has somewhere between fifteen to twenty tables, a cheerful atmosphere and a rather discreet design - wood and old photos of Argentina and I mostly noticed foreigners as clients. I was at the Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse one time only but I’d love to eat there again. For sure the place to go on my next visit to Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parthopeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A steak dinner like this in Vietnam?”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can't believe how good the steak was here! I am still kicking myself. A group of co-workers and I were fortunate enough to spend some time here while in Saigon. Our meal consisted of the Chorizo (Excellent) Caesar Salad (Very Good) 350gr Australian Prime Black Angus Rib Eye (Superb) Cheesecake w / Berries (Great) and a Caramel Vodka (Has to be tried - so smooth and delicious) shot to top off one of the greatest dining experiences in my stay on the planet Earth. Salud El Gaucho!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MantisFist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing