We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Steaks good - Chicken so-so” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse - CLOSED

El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steaks good - Chicken so-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

As might have been expected of a steak house, the steak was excellent - the chicken dish was so-so (no wonder the waiter looked down his nose when I ordered it). The choice and quality of steaks probably one of the best in Saigon, although you do pay for the pleasure. That being said because nothing is included in the price of the meat you do only get what you pay for.

Extensive wine menu adds to the great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BajaAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    146
    52
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Steaks but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Enjoyed dinner with my wife. Went to the one in Dist 7. The lake next to it adds to the atmosphere, the steaks are good but pricey. As some has mentioned it comes with nothing. So everything is added cost.

The owner or manager there was very friendly coming over twice to ask how our meal was and handed us the bill personally. The other service staff I would say barely make the mark, being in Vietnam they had a Filipino captain which looked Vietnamese, when asking him in Vietnamese if they had a table, he looked at us like we were stupid to ask him anything in Vietnamese.

Other than that it was a pleasant meal but only visits on special occasions due to the price tag.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyrix_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An oasis for excellent meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed it very much. The steaks are beautiful, cooked to perfection, smooth, tender, tasty. The service is perfect. The sauce is delicious. Plates are served hot (careful, do NOT touch them). Very good bread is served. Extensive choice of wines and drinks. The bill is served with a shot of caramelised vodka. Although it is expensive, it is worth it as there is only good to say about them. Go!

Helpful?
Thank webenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good, pricey, smokey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

very expensive by saigon standards, but a really good meal (which nearly every meal is in saigon). negatives were hardly enough light to read the menu and annoying clouds of smoke every time someone goes out on the balcony to smoke (which is often). my daughter said it was the best chicken she'd ever eaten - so we went back again. my steak was really good, but not as good as those I had in 2 nearby restaurants, casa italia, and the dull looking grill restaurant right next to the duxton hotel on nguyen hue. on 2nd trip, we had beef ragout, which was exceptional. lamb chops were very good. caramel vodka to finish (free) was a very nice touch. go here for a very good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hejmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Found El Gauchos through trip advisor my husband and I went on the 3rd Jan 13. The food especially the steak was fabulous well worth a visit when in Ho Chi Minh

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing