We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The extra mile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roseland Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roseland Inn Hotel
Ranked #17 of 835 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The extra mile...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a nice hotle well situated in Ho Chi Minh with wifi access and a nice breakfast. The reason I would recommend staying here though is more to do with the staff. From the moment I made the booking they were availbe by email for any questions we had a replied very quickly. During the actual stay, the girl on reception recommended not only somewhere to go for lunch, but idea off the menu that we may not have tried by the end of our travels in Vietnam. The recommendation was a good one and exactly what we were looking for, the food simple but traditional and a great way to end our holiday!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dizzysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    99
    40
    11
    9
See reviews for
33
102
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family. Rates are reasonable, hotel is located close to major attractions. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Jenny from reception. She always put on a smile and gave honest recommendations based on her own experiences. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tyyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjæreborg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed only 2 nights at this hotel in one of the suites. The suite were very nice, big and with nice furniture and a nice view at the street.
I did see some of the standard rooms, i would recommend to upgrade, the pricedifference is not very high but you get a lot more.
The locatíon i District 1 in HCM is perfect,very close to everything. The Operahouse close by.
The staff very polite and helpful.
The minus, the breakfast is below average. Not much to choose from and primarily for Asians.
But i would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in Dec 2013 and had a great experience. The staff were extremely helpful and the location of the hotel in D1 was superb. There is many excellent places to eat around here and we went on some excursions organized by the hotel staff which were also first class. Highly recommend and an excellent price for our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin_Irlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated in district 1 for everything that you are likely to want to visit. On arrival, we were told there were various room options, one of which included staying at another hotel for the first night, then returning here for the second. I opted to upgrade for 10 dollars a night to a bigger room, (I inspected both), which was more spacious etc..
The room was clean and suited our requirements but I noticed a strong, stale stench from the pillows, which is unusual when staying in any hotel with clean sheets. I had a look inside the pillow and noticed old and dried patches of sweat which stank through the pillowcase. As I was tired, I tried to avoid the doubtful odour and go to sleep.
However, it was cheap and in a good location.
The breakfast is interesting but based on the rate they are charging, I didn't mind trying out fillet steak and garlic spinach for breakfast, although I'm probably more adventurous than most.
Apart from the stinky pillows and moody manageress (dressed in black) who couldn't be bothered to say hello to you or crack even the faintest of smiles, I thought the place was fine.
There was also the issue of payment. I had already paid via Expedia but they said to my boyfriend that we hadn't. He probably would've handed them the cash had I not challenged them. To their credit, they admitted it was a mistake.
Not the best hotel I've stayed in, but not the worst either.
I would stay somewhere else if I ever return based on the smelly pillow experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank _Travel_Fanatic_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

With low expectation since we travelled on a budget and this is a 2 star hotel, we booked and stayed here for 5 nights during our first visit to Vietnam.

We reached Vietnam at around 9pm after a 5 hour transit and booked a taxi and went to this hotel. Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted with these enthusiastic and fast bell boys who reached for our heavy and big luggage’s in record time, and were told by the reception named Jessica there was a slight problem with our reservation. The room we booked were not available because the airconditioning was faulty. And she told us further that the room was small with no window! But she suggested we could checked into a different hotel about 5 blocks away from where we were and spent the night there while she sort out the problem.

In the morning we could come back and decide whether we still wanted to stay at the room we booked or upgrade to a bigger and more expensive room. We were too tired to argue and agreed so we were sent to that hotel with a taxi fares borne by the hotel.

The next morning we returned and after some discussions we agreed to upgrade to a bigger Deluxe room with additional USD10 per night. No fuss and no arguement and we were happy how they reacted to the situation and how they handled their guests.

Although it was just a bit odd on what happened the next day. We were relaxing at the lobby near the reception when we overheard the conversation between the reception and a guest that there was also problem with his room (not sure what) that he needed to check in to a different hotel (same hotel) so they could sort out his room, and returned the next day.

The hotel was good though, clean with comfortable bed. Deluxe room comes with a L-shape comfortable sofa and Jacuzzi (although we didn’t use it because it was too noisy when we switched it on!) The staff were friendly, respectful and helpful, especially the beautiful reception named Jessica :) The location was superb! We are Muslim and this hotel located very near to two Halal restaurants (well.. there were more but we liked these two and went there a few times during our stay). The restaurants served delicious food and service was good. The hotel was near a Masjid too. There was also a few grocery stores nearby so it was quite convenient. Our deluxe room faced the busy main road so there were alot of traffic noises and honkings from the vehicles but we got used to it after a while. Service was good, house keeping was on time but it was weird when they refill the complimentary bottled water but they put them in the toilet!

It was a good stay for us. The hotel was located near a few big department stores, Opera House and Saigon Centre (all these within walking distance). Just beware of traffic especially those motorcycles when crossing the road because we were almost hit, there were just too many of them!

We don’t mind staying at this hotel and meet Jessica again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel which I think is quieter. If you are a light sleeper you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Staying 5 nights with three children (4, 6 and 9). Great location in district 1. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff that pay attention to details. Nothing to complain about. Decent internet and good breakfast. For USD90/night (5 people) it's a great deal for down town Saigon.

Room Tip: Get the highest room possible to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thordane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravelle Saigon
Caravelle Saigon
#14 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#15 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#4 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#56 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Inn Hotel

Property: Roseland Inn Hotel
Address: 59, Hai Ba Trung Street | Ben Nghe Ward , District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Hai Long 5 Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roseland Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roseland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing