We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”

La Villa French Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 3,459 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A French Chef Thierry Mounon and his wife Tina are welcoming you in that elegant colonial style Villa. In Saigon's District 2, enjoy traditional or not so traditional French cuisine straight from Provence. Have lunch or dinner in the serene courtyard or refined interior, both bolstered by experienced and personable waitstaff. La Villa French Restaurant is located on a quiet side street off Thao Dien, a short taxi ride from the city center. La Villa French Restaurant features authentic French cuisine with true love of top products.Lunch Menu available, Dinner, a la carte and set menus are available for your dining pleasure. For the connoisseur a broad selection of French wines is on offer.La Villa is closed Sundays. Local Insight: The Lobster Menu is a must! Lunch Menu available Bringing due diligence to dessert, each pastry is delicate, delicious and just a touch decadent.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went for their very affordable set-lunch last week. We chose to sit outside as there was nobody inside the beautiful restaurant. As is often the case, only imported bottle water was available. The amuse bouche was fantastic, the seafood ravioli was excellent. The choice of mains was salmon or beef, unfortunately we both chose the beef which came served medium rare rather than medium and it wasn't tender. Desserts were excellent.
Disconcertingly, at 1.15 the staff began to clear all the other tables (we were still the only customers) of cutlery and place mats, even the chair cushions and umbrellas were removed. The staff were friendly and our Patron took time to both come and say hello and saw us off when we did leave. To be fair, we would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear spark41,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor, i have well noted your comments. We well understood and would like to thank you for your input as it will hopefully help us to improve our standards:), thanks again for your patronage and we are looking forward welcoming you back at La Villa soon.
Happy New Year 2013!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 548 of 919 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

A beautiful location but the quality of the served meal was not more than ok. There are definitely better french restaurants in Saigon.

1  Thank mm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear mm70,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Not sure we can fully appreciate your comments as you didn't provide any details of what you were unhappy with. Feel free to email me so we can discuss further about your average experience. Thank you and best regards, Thierry
thierry@lavilla-restaurant.com.vn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I visited La Villa for our 1st wedding aniversary and if we are still in Saigon we will return for each special occasion.
Food was wonderful, the staff attentive and we appreciated the little extras provided to make the occasion something to remember. We will definitely be back.

Thank jacko31752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Jacko31752,

Thank you for visiting us with your wife on your special day! We are delighted to read that you had such a nice time while dining with us, we will be glad to welcome you back for any others of your special occasions! Do not hesitate to contact Tina or me if you need us to arrange something special. I did communicate all your comments to our team as it s a great reward for us.
Thank you again and looking forward welcoming you back very soon in future.
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

i'd suggest you to book a table outdoor and enjoy the atmoshpere, although i sat indoor last time. very good service and cozy environment. Price was reasonable and food quality was good. A waiter also explain the cheese selection to me in detail and I was deeply grateful about that. keep it up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Joe L,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post such a great review on TripAdvisor. All the team and myself are delighted to read that you had a great time while dining with us at La Villa! We are looking forward welcome you back soon in future and are wishing you an Happy New Year and all the very best for 2013!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Theirry is an amazing chef. His flavour combinations are superb and his execution of dishes is simply brillian. The service matches his excellence and the atmoshpere is elegant and relaxing.
You just have to go. Keep it up! bravo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J0nnyPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThierrySaigon, Owner at La Villa French Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear J0nnyPage,

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are all delighted to read that you had such a nice experience while dining at La Villa. We do hope to welcome you back soon in future and we are wishing you an Happy New year and all the best for 2013. Thank you again for your patronage!
"Carpe Diem!"
Best regards, Thierry and La Villa's Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa French Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Villa French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing