We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a date. . .”
Review of Casa Italia - CLOSED

Casa Italia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Casa is located on the popular Le Loi tourist strip in the same block as the famous Ben Thanh market. Serving coffees from 9am and pizzas and dining from 10am until late, Casa caters to those seeking 'comfort' western and Italian cuisine prepared by our internationally trained chefs and served by English speaking staff. In our smoke free environment you can enjoy the casual, friendly atmosphere of our full service bar, pizzeria and cafe style or venture upstairs for that more romantic touch, relax in our lounge area or request our private room. Enjoy our selection of quality house wines and mingle with the other guests. Casa is intimate with comfortable seating for up to 50 people. Australian owned and managed, you can be assured of homely hospitality, good music and ambience. Casa caters to special diets with gluten free, and vegetarian options, including special meal sizes and choices for children: just ask our staff. Bookings are recommended for evenings and special occasions.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for a date. . .”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I enjoyed a couple of nice quiet dinners here with a lady friend and was quietly impressed.

Since they had the make over done upstairs it has a nice quiet atmosphere and is a good place to go, have a nice glass of wine and some European food as a talking point.

I would recommend it for dates and quiet dinners or when you need to get a fix of something other than local food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farlie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your review...we note your rating for service and value and whilst we use top quality imported products, we cannot and will not compete with local fare. The service is something I am concerned about and will continue to address and train staff appropriately. Kind regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    101
    32
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
166 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Disappointed !”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We returned to Casa Italia this year in August 2013 and i can say that i did not find the quality of the restaurant i knew last year. The owner has changed and perhaps the cook chief.
We ordered one sea food pizza,one chicken pizza and garlic bread.
As for the seafood pizza, there were merely 5 or 6 clams and very few squids. It was really not an 'international standard'. For me it is not a worth place to go.
Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank huynhtantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Us Too!!! Yes, since your last visit, Casa has changed ownership, chefs, lifted the menu and service to international standards, improved food quality, health and hygiene, and is a recognized and licenced training and work experience location for international (Australia, USA & Canadian) hospitality (front and back of house) certificates and diplomas. Further we do not have either a seafood or chicken pizza on our menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place with warm atmosphere”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We don't usually eat anything but the food of the country in which we are travelling, however, we were lured inside by the Australian owner of this restaurant I guess mainly because we are Kiwis. We initially were only going to have a beer and a wine (which I might add, are much, much better than most wines you will find in the city), but sitting at the bar watching the young Vietnamese chef cooking pizzas was too much for us and we had to indulge. Have to say, there were four of us and we all agreed that the pizzas were among the best we had ever tasted, and I don't mean only in Vietnam. They were scrummy - largely because of the way the chef prepared the dough. Anyway, we had a lovely evening and Stephen, the owner, was a very good host, not only to us but to everyone. I would say that if you want a break from the local food just once during your visit, try this

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Garry, thanks to you, your wife and travelling companions. A couple of hours of banter and chin wagging....good fun between Aussies and kiwis. It was a pleasure and thanks for your kind words, hope to catch up on your next time round. Safe travels, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Freshest green salad and pizza toppings I've had in HCMC!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the perfect fix for anyone craving fresh Italian. I typically dine with others, but last night I dined solo, but I didn't feel lonely. Not only was the food comforting but so was the clientele and the owner himself, Steve. The decor is cozy, intimate, yet unpretentious. The staff and owner make you feel right at home, and the music is a nice selection from yesteryear (60s to 80s), which matches the eclectic yet again unpretentious decor. The menu is straight forward and inviting. I went with the green salad, which to me is the best indicator of a restaurant's comitment to freshness -- Casa Italia's green salad was as fresh as fresh can be, and generously sized. The waiter happily agreed to make a half and half pizza for me (though not an option on the menu) - I ordered half fungi (mushroom) and half vegi. When I got my pizza, I was surprised to find the two toppings mixed, but the result was a pizza that agreed with my taste buds just as much as if they were divided half and half. The crust could have spent slightly more time in the oven, but the freshness and quality of the toppings more than made up for that -- again, fresh as fresh can be! Thanks, Steve! Nice chatting with you after my soul-comforting meal at your fine establishment. -- Big Mike

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
'Big Mike', thanks for your detailed and focused review. We try to provide the best we can in terms of ambience and food & drinks and we are honest about our approach focusing on quality products and standards that meet Australian health, safety and food prep regulations. Apologies about the half and half pizza combining to become a whole and thanks for your understanding....would happily have replaced it for you if requested. Good luck with your work/excursions here and look forward to catching up next time. Kind regards Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Omg the best Italian in Vietnam”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We called in here for lunch and the meals were amazing, the spaghetti was good with just the right amount of sauce, the lasagne was large and hot and tasty and plough and lunch was very tasty.... Not the cheapest but the best in flavour... I would go,there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen H, Owner at Casa Italia, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are pleased you joined us and took the time to write your review. Kind regards, Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing