We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Moroccan Outside (and maybe inside) Morocco”
Review of Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine - CLOSED

Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casablanca is the only moroccan restaurant in ho chi minh city serving Dinner ,plenty of starters,range of tajines perfectly done,a savory couscous from merguez and chicken to couscous royal...and don 't skip the moroccan drinks such as khalejji bazar,Mogador breeze,rock la kasbah and more..and for finish your meal don't hesitate to order some moroccan delights with a refreshing moroccan mint tea.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Moroccan Outside (and maybe inside) Morocco”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here a few weeks after it first opened about 3 years ago. It was difficult to find, tiny, and there were only four things on the menu (and he was out of two of them). Needless to say, our expectations were low. But then we ate. The food blew us away. It was phenomenal. Any cuisine requires two elements--a skilled chef, and fresh ingredients. Casablanca has them both. A restaurant requires an additional element. Good service. Casablanca has that in spades. The owner makes the dining experience feel like you're being welcomed into his home and he's trying to convert you to Moroccan cuisine. After that first time, we made Casablanca a regular in our rotation of Saigon eateries. We've since moved to Bangkok (which has nothing in the same league as Casablanca when it comes to Morocco), but whenever we return to HCMC we make Casablanca a priority. We travel all over the world and can honestly say Casablanca has the best Moroccan we've ever tried. Admittedly, we've never been to Morocco, but we've tried at least a dozen Moroccan places from Paris, to NYC, Singapore...little Casablanca wins hands down. And now he has far more than 2 dishes on the menu. If you want something other than Vietnamese, Moroccan should be atop your list.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrizi, Owner at Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
hi Phillipe,
thank you so much for taking time to review us on TA and help another travelers to know about the dinning experience in Casablanca.
very glad you could mention that our restaurant is authentique and he do the job in the the way it should be.
HRIZZI
My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For something different.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went here with friends in January. We took our own wine, but they also serve a good selection.
The food was really tasty and we ordered a large variety and shared in the traditional Vietnamese way.
Everything was cooked properly and absolutely delicious! I could barely walk out of the place:).
The restaurant is very small, so it is best to have reservations. They can seat about 4 groups of 6-8 people, so it is very private dining compared to the larger restaurants around town, and the service is the best I have found in Saigon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrizi, Owner at Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Joseph,
thank you so much for coming to have diner among us in a casablanca...and to write a review on TA to share your experience with anthers travellers ..really appreciate that you left happy ...we do to provide good service paired with good food..to make every body satisfied .
Mr RIAHAI
My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Finally! A great couscous in Southeast Asia!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor, we tried this Moroccan restaurant and were not disappointed! The restaurant is located on a quiet side street, has a small number of tables and is very quaint. The owner, Riahi Noureddine, greeted us and served us. Conversation switched back and forth between French and English and we learned about his life and how he came to set up his restaurant. We all ordered couscous, and it was very authentic. We were served homemade harissa (my husband's favourite!), and, as a special treat, also given olives and dates from Morocco. We really enjoyed our meal, and the time spent chatting with the owner. We loved that it was off the beaten path, and were especially thrilled to finally find a great couscous in this part of the world!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovemotherearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrizi, Owner at Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Lovemotherth,
Thank you so much for taking time to review us on trip advisor and for coming with your familly to have dinner among us in casablanca .
We had great moments by chatting and sharing our experiences in the life while you enjoy your meal.
Mr riahi
My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is only my 3rd time eating Moroccan food. Twice in Melbourne and once in Saigon. From the relative limited experience, I found that the dishes have depth and flavours bold, but rounded. Everything I like in a good meal - the cook is not afraid to use salt, sugar and spices in this seasoning. We also had Moroccan bread, but I liken it to round, dense and crusty western bread rolls.

The only let down are the drinks (ones which we tried) - it's a little "meh" and forgettable.

But, all in all, if you're wanting to experience a more multi-cultural side to Saigon's cuisine, Casablanca should be on that list.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellies_world01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrizi, Owner at Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
HI Mellies,
thank you so much for taking time to give us such great review on trip advisor,My team will be delighted to hear trough your feedback that the food is TASTY and meet your expectation .
WE use to serve some Moroccan few drinks without alchool ,beers,soft drinks,and wine list..including 2 kind of Moroccan wine a Gris and a Red both good mache with our food...
all in all ,thank you for coming and see you again casablanca very soon.
MR RIAHI
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy and tasty food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was so curious about Morocco food, then just found the Casablanca on facebook. We tried with big family there, just so far away from many easy found restaurants in the down town, it's took a while to found the restaurant. But the food was excellence, love the curry and the mint tea with lavender, and the sausage, cant remember name of it. The owner taking care of us very nicely. Sure we will be back to try all the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phuongphuongfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrizi, Owner at Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
hi Phuong,
,thank you so much for coming and sharing your experience with others travelers trough your review on trip advisor.really happy that you enjoy moroccan food and i am sure that casablanca
team will definitely welcome you again while you visiting us again.
Mr Riahi
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca Moroccan Cuisine also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing