We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but good things to say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A great welcome with friendly staff, walked in off the street and they had a bed free for me. Some great travel advise since I had just arrived in Vietnam from Cambodia without having done any research for myself of the country.

Stayed in a dorm room, probably still the cleanest dorm room I've stayed in since travelling Asia for the past 2 months. Great washroom facilities with fresh sheets and towels.

Not only a free breakfast but also 2 free beers in the evening. Well worth the money spent!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle-cat-444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

one of the best places in VN. great value. the dorms are roomy and clean, great shower (the whole building is new so everything clean and shiny) and the staff is very nice and helpfull. free beer every day (!!) and clean towels. dont need more then that...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuvi-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

After having problems with an earlier booking at a nearby hostel we stumbled across this place. We were delighted with the standard of the rooms, the pillows were excellent and the beds relatively comfortable. Dorm rooms were huge and the ensuite bathroom was the best I've ever seen in a hostel. The hostel had only been opened a week and we are so happy we found this little gem!!

Room Tip: Happy hour with free beers everyday!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natdrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Awesome owners and staff, the best service I've had in months! Super clean, spacious and friendly rooms with great bathrooms (one for every dorm!). Very social thanks to a well-designed common area. Breakfast of Baguette, fruit, peanut butter and all kinds of homemade jam is included!

I really loved my stay, everything made me feel at home.
I arrived sick and was very nicely cared for and asked how I was every day!

The laundry service worked perfectly and the staff can book tours and busses for you.

Would stay again any time and highly recommend for everyone to do so, too! :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Casparmotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Run by the friendliest people. Lovely big, clean modern rooms and bathrooms. Great place to meet people free breakfast and even give you two free beers every evening! Brilliant location can't say enough good things about this place my favourite so far in all of SE Asia...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Georgia101_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A great, friendly, welcoming place at an affordable price, in the best location.

This hostel is perfect for the solo traveller or small groups! It has enough openness to meet people over a cold beer but does not have the overwhelmingly loud and busy bar-room situation One tends to find in many hostels. This hostel has a more intimate chillout / meet-and-greet area by the reception on the ground floor and outdoor seating for the smoker.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and can arrange most services you require for you; i.e. local tours, national transport, VISA extension, local attractions to see/directions around the city, taxis, laundry, etc.

At the time of writing, the dorms are $8 per night and the privates $25, including breakfast.

The dorms are very spacious and clean, with good aircon and a fan, and are accompanied by a small balcony with chairs. One doesn't get that cramped feeling of living in someone else's mess like in many dorms. The beds are large and comfortable with plenty of luggage storage space and a good locker, and the linen is changed daily.
Each dorm has a bathroom which has A SEPARATE SHOWER CUBICLE so you can dry and get changed on a dry floor with plenty of room for a change! I have missed that in asia!!

Residents also are gifted 2 free beers between 6-7pm

Definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank RichFNEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time in HCMC and I was looking for a new hostel around the Pham Ngu Lao area- this hostel suddenly appeared after I searched in google. Given its strategic location, finding the place was a no-brainer. The rooms were spotless, they have an elevator, information about the city is readily available and they've got breakfast and free beer. Imagine that? The people in the hotel, Tom and Cao were so accomodating and pleasant . All our pertinent requests were given a consideration with a warm smile. We booked all our tours with them too (they gave us an extensive background on what the tours got to offer). Anh, the sweet girl who speaks really good English and French was also so nice and hospitable, never forgetting to ask everyone how their day went and recommending all the good stuff in the city. I believe this hostel has a very strong potential to bag the tripadvisor award in the coming months. Thank you Hideout hostel for being our refuge and "hideout" in the busy city of Saigon. My cousin and I are looking forward to see you again in the coming years.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Nikki596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#10 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#3 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#6 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
VietNam Inn Saigon
VietNam Inn Saigon
#38 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#16 of 728 in Ho Chi Minh City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon

Address: 281 Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Canadian Hotel 281)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $12 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hideout Hostel Saigon is in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City. We have a bar next door with events happening every night and we offer the ultimate backpacker accommodation: - 2 FREE BEERS EVERYDAY - BREAKFAST - FAST WIFI - A/C - SUPER CLEAN ROOMS - HOT SHOWERS - LOCKERS - FREE INFO AND TOUR/BUS/FLIGHT BOOKING - 24 HR SECURITY Our building has just been completely modernized and everything is new. All our dorm rooms are fully equipped with en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, fans, new really comfortable beds, and the 10 bed dorms have a balcony overlooking the beautiful park across the street. We have a chill-out room where you can watch a movie from the 100's we have stored on the tv, with big comfy sofas and bean bags. We are located down Pham Ngu Lao Street the famous backpacker area of Ho Chi Minh City. Named after the famous general Pham Ngu Lao from the Tran Dynasty many people now say it is Saigons answer to Khaosan Road in Bangkok and is a tourist attraction itself. There are many bars, shops and restaurants where locals and tourists come to hang out, drink, eat and party. It's the perfect location to explore all that this awesome city has to offer including The Independence Palace (Re-unification Palace), War Remnant Museum, Central Post Office, Notre Damn Cathedral and Ben Thanh Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing