We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Went here every day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Une Journee a Paris

Une Journee a Paris
Ranked #75 of 2,760 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Une Journée à Paris est une Boulangerie-Pâtisserie Française authentique, créée et dirigée par des propriétaires français. La boulangerie est située au coeur de Saigon près du marché touristique de Ben Thanh. Les gourmands et les amoureux de la cuisine française pourront retrouver le goût authentique et traditionnel parmi nos sandwiches goûteux, nos croissants et autres viennoiseries, nos délicieuses pâtisseries élaborés avec des ingrédients de qualité et dans le respect de la tradition française. Vous pouvez également profitez de nos créations originales pour vos occasions spéciales telles que mariage, anniversaire, réception, buffet, fêtes de fin d'année, Têt, baptême, etc... Que ce soit pour prendre un petit-déjeuner, dégustez une pâtisserie unique autour d'un thé ou d'un café, manger un sandwich frais, toutes les occasions sont bonnes. Venez au plus vite découvrir nos créations originales parmi baba au rhum, tarte à la mangue ou goyave rose, chouquettes, edelweiss, religieuses et nos macarons dont la réputation à dépasser les frontières puisqu'on nous les commande de la Malaisie, Singapour et même de Hong Kong. Si vous désirez des produits d'une grande fraicheur, sains et authentiques nous vous invitons à venir nous visiter sans plus attendre. Notre équipe souriante vous accueille dans un cadre sympathique, calme à l'atmosphère Française.
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Went here every day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My friend and I went here each day we were in HCMC, and I'm sure we could have returned a dozen time more. We never ordered the same thing, and I'm sure we didn't eat more than a third of the cakes on the menu. One small note: the chocolate cakes are rich and heavy, and we enjoyed the fruit ones much more in the heat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glohevic, Propriétaire at Une Journee a Paris, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your great comment. We are glad that you have appeciated the fruit cakes. Chocolate cakes generally are heavy but we make them like that for reproducing the real taste of these cakes.
We hope that you will come back to enjoy our future new products and to have the pleasure to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    126
    36
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast in District 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Lavender Hotel just a few doors down and didn't enjoy the hotel breakfast very much. Une Journee a Paris was an excellent substitute for hotel breakfast! Whether you just want a simple croissant, eggs, or something a little more substantial - Journee has it for you! My favorite was pork rillette on a croissant. Not heavy or light - just right for a quick breakfast in the morning. If you're walking around District 1, be sure to pick up a few macaroons for your walk. We especially enjoyed the surprise pastries after requesting the check!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annz0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glohevic, Propriétaire at Une Journee a Paris, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. I'm glad that you have appreciated our pastries and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quick and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Came in for breakfast while waiting for hotel check-in after flight to Saigon. AC, fresh bread, great coffee and dessert options. Toilets were clean, up a ahort staircase. Nice place to chill out (literally) and enjoy some refreshments before plunging back to the Saigon traffic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snackeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glohevic, Propriétaire at Une Journee a Paris, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
HI Snackeboo,

Thank's for your message. I hope your trip was nice in Saigon, wee wait you with pleasure in our shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The last time I had a proper pain au chocolat amande was in Paris, the ones here were just as good! This patisserie became our daily habit during our stay in HCMC as our hotel was just around the corner. Breads are fresh and delicious, try the croque monsieur which is made with quality ingredients and comes with a side tomato salad topped with a wonderful dressing. Or enjoy the crossants with your iced white coffee. Service is great and everything we had was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouquetoftulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glohevic, Propriétaire at Une Journee a Paris, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Bouquetoftulips,

I am 'Une Journée à Paris" horner, your message on my shop is very nice, my team and me are very great .
We will make all that for the custommer are happy . Here our products are veritable french autentic .
Thank's for your great compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in the middle of HCM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a surprise to find this little place of heaven.
We are French living in Shanghai so it's very pleasant to find a little bit of our country when traveling, so we couldn't just pass by, so we went there 3 times.
First to have some chocolate macaron, then for a real espresso and hot chocolate, according to my daughter one of the best she'd ever tried and another trip there for a quick lunch (sandwiches, desserts and coffees)
Everything was perfect.
I even bought some jams and was able to try one and some vanilla. The owner gave me plenty of explanations on how to use the vanilla and how to even make sugar vanilla out of it.
This place is fabulous, and I recommend everyone who wants to have a real coffee, not the ones from the coffee store chains, and some pastry to just stop there and relax.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank XOXO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glohevic, Propriétaire at Une Journee a Paris, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Google Translation
Hi XOXO2,

Bonjour à vous cela fait très plaisir de constater que votre passage dans notre boutique vous ait plu, Comme vous constater , je vous répond en Français puisque vous préciser que vous êtes français vivant à Shangai, et nous sommes toujours heureux de recevoir des français chez nous dans la mesure où vous connaissez les produits avec plus de sensibilités que d'autres.
Merci de votre avis qui nous a fait chaud au coeur.
N'hésiter pas à revenir chez nous lors d'un prochain passage à Ho Chi Minh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Une Journee a Paris also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Une Journee a Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing