We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but nice food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of VN HALAL

VN HALAL
Ranked #2,166 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Opening Hours: 7 am to 11 pm Phone: 84-838220311 Fax: 84-8 38220311 Website: No website available Email: No email available 2 minutes walk to Ben Thanh. Halal authenticity: Owners are known Muslims. Food relatively cheaper here than at the Halal Restaurants near the Saigon Mosque. Very friendly staff - charged only 7,000 dong for plain rice to take away(to be consumed in the hotel room with the canned halal dishes). Accepts Malaysian currency, serves also Malaysian dishes, and workers can also speak Malay
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Had almost meal at VN Halal at my entire trip to HCM. Theyre pricey but the food is not dissapointing. Be prepared to pay one fried noodle around RM 18. If you seek for halal food, take vinasun to parkson. They have mamak selling halal food at much cheaper price.

Helpful?
2 Thank sarahazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    16
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont go there again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Bad service..bad food and wrong recommendation by locals...i was told by my friends that this is one of the restaurent that serves good food..and also read some blogs ..the blogs are misleading and the food is terrible..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“halal food, pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

easy to find, not far from ben tanh market. clean interior. my main aim is to get as much vietnamese halal food as i can. but here, they r running out of pho bo as well as fresh spring rolls.
ends up taking vietnamese rice noodle and fried spring rolls.

went the next day, still out of stock for pho bo. however, they recommended me to go to salima cafe, with is their sister cafe nearby.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank az412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pricey for an OK meal ;((”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Love love love that it's a HALAL restaurant.

Went to Vietnam fearing our difficult task of finding HALAL food but hey we found a few and this is 1 of those we went to.

Food was ok for a satisfying lunch. We are just the hungry bunch so gobbling was more like it.

Environment was clean and they had a very useless wifi so don't get too excited about the free wifi service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haneyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Service is inexistence and high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for dinner around 7pm. Ordered beef noodle and spring roll --> but was told already finished. That was few minutes after our order. Replaced beef with chicken. I have to give credit where its due - so, the noodle soup was tasty, in fact tastier than the Halal@Saigon (in front of mosque, Sheraton) and Serai Restaurant (behind Benh Thanh market).

There are a lot of halal restaurants around Benh Thanh market, so give them a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VN HALAL also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to VN HALAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing