We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "non-touristy" tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saigon Unseen

Saigon Unseen
Ranked #71 of 375 Tours in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Saigon Unseen is a new business on the scene with a view of taking people to places they aren't likely to see on a standard tour. Our concept is to show travelers a different side to Saigon, it's not always pretty but it is pretty amazing.Our aim is to provide a unique view that combines traveling on the back of a motorbike through the mayhem and chaos that are Saigon streets.At Saigon Unseen we now offer Motor Bike Tours, Walking Tours and Photography Tours, full details can be found on our website.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great "non-touristy" tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We saw the so many areas of Saigon which were really interesting and different from what you see in District 1 (and that we would not have seen if we had not done this tour). Everywhere we went were local spots, off the beaten path. Because of this tour, I feel like we got to see a more well rounded picture of Saigon as whole, which made me appreciate the trip even more. Our guides were also very gracious and friendly. I highly recommend this tour if you are wanting a non-touristy experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Leslie, thanks for taking the time to write a review! Great to hear you had a blast on there on the bikes and enjoyed the company of the drivers!

Hope to see you back in Saigon sometime soon!

Regards,

Adam @ Saigon Unseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    19
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Saigon unseen by motorbike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic 4 hours on the back of a motor bike with well informed very careful riders, it was a real eye opener to the great divide between old and new and rich and poor in Vietnam. A couple of rest stops and some delicious pho for lunch made it a very comfortable experience and a good way to see how well the traffic flows as well as sights you never would have seen.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Vicki C, thanks for writing a review! Great to hear you had a ball out there on the bikes! It is by far the best way to get around and explore this massive city!

Hope to see you back sometime soon!

Safe Travels

Adam @ Saigon Unseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value, fun times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Took the walking tour around district 1 and 4. Adam was knowledgeable and very friendly with the locals. Spent a great afternoon in parts of saigon I wouldve definitely missed. Glad I did it and you will too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank grooveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
grooveK, thanks for taking the time to write a review! Great to hear you fun tripping around Saigon! Hopefully we;ll see you back here sometime soon!

Adam @ Saigon Unseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good photography tips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

It was a good tour. After pick up by Adam (Martin), we went on our motorcycle taxis to a park where we had Vietnamese coffee and a brief introduction to photography tips, all this whilst being serenaded by lovely song birds (this is a park where Vietnamese bring their birds in cages and hook them up on poles). We had a chance to practice photography on the ladies practicing tai chi.

We then hopped onto the bike and headed to a street market on an alleyway. We were amazed at how motorcyclists and pedestrians navigated the narrow street whilst doing their shopping with the street vendors at the same time. As a beginner, I struggled with street photography as the markets were busy and it was a challenge to practice and look out for bikes and people. After another stop at another market, we went to the Jade Pagoda. This was probably my favourite as there were easier photo opportunities, with interesting angles and subjects, and Adam provided a lot more guidance here. It would have been nice if he could have shared a bit of the background of the pagoda. Whilst this is not a sightseeing tour, I think that it would have given context to what we were photographing. Post tour, Adam emailed a photography tips document, which was a nice touch.

The thing that I wasn't too crazy about was the fact that the motorcycle helmet is communal. I wished I had brought a head scarf to wear. Also, as with all the motorcycle tours, there is an element of risk. Whilst our motorcycle drivers were safe drivers, my partner did have a close call on his bike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AvidKLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi AvidKLTraveller, thanks for writing a review! The streets of Saigon are crazy, there's no hidding that, but like crossing the road, everything has it's risks!

Great to hear you enjoyed the tour, Adam is not only a great photographer, but he can also explain in simple terms all that techo stuff!

Giving guidance can be a challenge in the smaller lanes, but it's also the best place to get amazing shots of markets, people and everyday life. Places that most travelers simply miss out on!

Thanks again for traveling with us and hopefully we'll see you back in HCMC sometime soon!

Adam (and Adam M) @ Saigon Unseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Seeing for the first time the organised chaos that is the 'normal' traffic conditions in Ho Chi Minh City prior to doing the Moto tour with Adam and the lads at Saigon Unseen; I must admit was a bit hesitant. However, these feelings of trepidation quickly dissipated and I was very comfortable within minutes from the start. Adam has an extensive knowledge of the cultural and historical events that Vietnam is synonymous for. The tour was well paced, moving as fast or as slow as we wanted it to go and encompassed a number of different aspects that reflected the broad diversity of this wonderful city. A big thanks to Adam and his team for a thoroughly entertaining tour, I would definitely recommend it and will be doing it again one day (hopefully) soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonUnseen, Owner at Saigon Unseen, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! Great to hear you enjoyed tripping around Saigon on the bikes. Hope to see you back sometime soon!

Adam @ Saigon Unseen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Unseen also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Unseen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing