We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Mekong day-long bike tour”

Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Saigon Pho and Beer Bike tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEE THE REAL VIETNAM ? 'SMELL' THE TRULY OF VIETNAM? LET US GUIDE YOU ON A TOUR, LeVietnam Travel promises to provide you the best itineraries in MEKONG DELTA, across VIETNAM, or explore the mystery Indochina. You can choose any part of 'the Dragon' country Vietnam, or Indochina ... One thing for sure is that you will take with you a lifetime memory!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Noosa, Australia
1 review
“Magical Mekong day-long bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

It is rare to find a tour company that can make you feel like a local when you have been in a country for the first time for less than 24 hours. Thanks to our excellent guide (ask for Hao), my friend and I spent a day experiencing parts of Vietnam that we never knew existed. Far off the beaten track (a two hour drive from our CBD hotel in Saigon), we saw Vietnamese people farming delicious fruits and living in a private paradise on little-known islands of the Mekong River. We met people who are passionate about their lifestyle and their River - and who went out of their way to make us feel at home - teaching us about the local landscape, the culture and the history of a magical part of the world.

We didn't see another tourist during our bike ride or the boat ride at the end of the tour and felt safe at all times - on well maintained bikes and with an experienced and knowledgable tour guide who spoke excellent English. The ride was incredible - mostly flat and easy for someone who is not exactly at peak fitness - always with a pleasant surprise around the next bend.

The paths were well maintained and virtually free of traffic - apart from the occasional scooter impossibly-laden with mountains of Durian or Jack fruit. It was exhilarating to ride across the three Mekong River islands, along winding paved paths, over arched concrete bridges, under canopies of carefully manicured fruit trees and amidst a vibrant jungle.

There were so many highlights of the bike tour: catching a ferry within the first five minutes to hop across the islands... seeing little kids appearing out of nowhere yelling "hello" to the oh-so-white foreigners... slurping ripe mangoes under the shade of a mango tree... eating fresh watermelon followed by a freshly squeezed incredibly refreshing sugar cane juice... a five course lunch with the most generous of hosts who capped off our three hour ride with a lesson on longenberry liqueur drinking ettiquette....

Filled to the brim with an amazing array of "gifts from the Mekong", we then enjoyed a private boat ride along the river, past floating markets with a stop-off at a candy factory where we saw locals making treats by hand from rice and coconut. Notsurprisingly, we didn't need dinner when we finally made it back to the hotel that night (about 6pm).

We loved our trip so much that my mate and I are planning a return trip with our families - probably a longer trip to one of the other cities so we can see more of this amazing country.

Do it! You'll make memories that will last a lifetime - and maybe even make some new friends too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GabeeReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    17
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome 1 day Mekong bike trip with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Just finished an awesome day out with Hao biking the Mekong! We had our 2 kids 11 & 8 and were all set with good bikes that they took care to size right for us to ride the 45km. What a great day. Endless paths with smiling locals greetings us at every turn along the way and genuinely happy to see us. We didn't see any tourists at all and felt like we were seeing Mekong rural life rolling by the whole day. Hao spoke excellent English and we all had a good laugh at many things. He is very knowledgeable about everything we asked as we immersed ourselves in all things Vietnam from the 2hr drive there that felt like 30 mins, to the ride, stops with snacks along the way, an incredible lunch that kept going course after course, the boat ride to Cai Be market and home again. So much more than just a bike trip in the Mekong. We are all tired but happy and have such great memories and photos to cherish. Really a great time. Thanks so much for everything today Hao! All the best from our family to you. Kia Kaha.

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent 'off the beaten track' bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

1. Best guide I've ever had. Ken was knowledgeable about all that we asked, particularly culture and customs.

2. Not another tourist all day.

3. Great scenery

4. Interesting and tasty food and juice stops.

5. Easy enough cycling for my clumsy girlfriend.

Genuinely excellent day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robbyniceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVietnamtravel, Owner at Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much! we are very happy that you have enjoyed our bicycle tour, all the best to you and family, very much looking forward to cycling with you again.
Le Vietnam Travel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic one day Mekong delta cycling tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Such a great day! Our guide Ken was excellent, the stops were all interesting, the scenery fabulous and the people along the way so friendly. We barely saw another tourist all day. I am a dreadful and very nervous cyclist, and apart from a couple of hairy moments on narrow lanes I managed the day easily, so I would recommend this tour to anyone. We're now really keen to do more trips with Le Vietnam Travel - thanks for a fantastic day, we really hope we'll be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVietnamtravel, Owner at Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much ! hoping to see you again !
Le Vietnam Travel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour de Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have very exiting bicycle tour for smallest group of two. We have visited Hanoi first, then we took a train to Hue. Afterwards we started the cycling ride. All together we made 500 km in 10 days. It was quite difficult tour as mountain are high in some areas but we expected that. Our guide Hui is a fantastic guy, very friendly, so we appreciate his support and professional attitude. Very well organised by Le Vietnam Travel despite they had a very short notice about our arrival. Additionally New Year began.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arek1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVietnamtravel, Owner at Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Mr Arek, we are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed the Hue-Saigon bike tour with us. Our guide Hui missed the flight to Hue, we were very worried, but he made it the next day to meet you.Vietnam is very hilly, and you and your friend have completed the ride, congratulation !
we are very much looking forward to ride with you again from Saigon to Angkor next time.
Thank you so much and best wishes to you and friend.
Le Vietnam Travel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Vietnam Cycle Day Tours - Le Vietnam Travel Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing