We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FITO Museum

FITO Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City on Restored Army Jeep
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

i have always found chinese medicine interesting, and having a vietnamese spin on it - even moreso. The actual tour is a little tedious as it focuses on the actual chemists. The building itself is magnificent, and well worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marc-hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    204
    45
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good to see if you have more than 2 spare hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

15 minutes away by taxi from downtown.
admired the owner, and loved the ambience.
The A O show at the opera house will sometimes offer you free admission to this museum, say you're a traveller and you may get a free offer. Such an added values, not only the admission fee but a local recommendation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Weetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of the way but interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was an interesting diversion...hard to get to. The site is run by FITO a manufacturing company who make herbal medicines commercially. However in saying that, it is great the history of traditional medicines has been preserved and collected. Guide was good and managed english well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited this museum with my wife and we were very impressed. This is not a typical museum, and you can see a lot of Chinese ancient medicine. The old building are very beautiful and an interesting film is presented (in french). We were very impressed by the history of their medicine, from the beginning of time, how they used to extract it from the plants, what tool they’ve used and all other kind of remedies. You can also buy these remedies from a small shop at the end of the tour, if you are interested.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“well preserved and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beware when looking for the place that from the western end the street is Hoang Du Khuong but from the eastern side it is Hem 285 Cach Mang Thang Tam. In Oct 2013, entry fee=50,000 dong. The old and new architecture moulds beautifully. It is obvious that the museum has been restored with care. The guide was free and very engaging. There is a goodly list of artifacts.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FITO Museum also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to FITO Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing