We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food; Paying for the view”
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
Ranked #190 of 4,992 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Our family of 6 recently had dinner there. Our experience overall was good, but to me this is a special occasion type of place as both the food and service were good but not outstanding, especially for the prices that we paid.

On arrival the path in is beautifully framed by bamboo. One can hear western music playing in the background. The outdoor courtyard is really nice, the ambiance and decor definitely stylish, westernized, and modern.

We had a riverside table with a wonderful view. We started with a Thai beef salad, which was 5/5. The food is all a la cart. We had sea bass (4/5), prawns (4/5), (ribeye (2/5), chicken skewers (4/5), and a curry (5/5). The sauce accompaniments were flavorful but some felt slightly mismatched to the food. The black sticky rice (5/5) had an interesting wild rice texture. The flavors in my cocktail were a mismatch and I didn’t particularly enjoy it.

Service was friendly but we had to ask for more water. Food came out on time and portions were good — not too much and not too little. It was raining when we left and they provided complimentary umbrellas.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ladeee_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

We went to this place twice on the same day :) Great view, food and Happy hour!!!! we never tried the food, but the Aperol spritz were awesome!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ogorelaya15_dxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

I would love to come to the restaurant again. The deck has great atmosphere, excellent drinks and food, lovely bartender name Ngoc ( sorry if I wrote her name wrong).
Would recommend my family and friends come here.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Phoebeslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

It is breathtaking. Inside, it look boujee with classic music. The atmosphere was brilliant. The food was so delicious, the staff is friendly.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChriseldaBrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Just had a lovely afternoon by the river enjoying delicious food and wine served by the most friendly staff. Great way to finish our holiday

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjwaters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigonTeam, General Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2019

Dear CJWATERS123,

Thank you very much for your review and we are so pleased we were able to add to your holiday experience in such a positive way.

Safe travels and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing