We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outlook, wine and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
Ranked #54 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great outlook, wine and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were tipped off to this restaurant by the manager of our hotel and it is a real winner. The place has a great feel to it for either dinner or a drink and is frequented by many expats. The wine list was good as was the lamb and duck. Sitting watching the water hyacinths float past while eating dinner was a real treat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SydLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Sydleyland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us here at The Deck Saigon. Its our pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    270
    104
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Impressive_Overpriced_Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited the The Deck with a friend visiting from France, a chef wine connoisseur by profession. We were very impressed with the ambiance and the decor of this fine restaurant. The food wasn't as great as other restaurants of this class in Ho Chi minh City area, however, the presentation was good. Service was standard on this occassion.

We ordered the Ostrich cooked to medium juxtaposition with a slice egg plant grilled mixture. To be honest, I couldn't ascertain excactly what was on the egg plant. It was unrecognizable and very distasteful to the palate. The menu is very comprehensive offers a variety of interesting cusinies. I didn't recognize some of the wines on their wine list, but their drinks were good.

This restaurant is located in District 2, Tao Den, just outside of central Ho Chi Minh City about a $10.00 USD/200,000 Vietnam Dong taxi fare to it's location. It is located along the Sai Gon/Bach Dong River not very scenic river as you can see from the picture posted. It's better to go in the evening at sunset to take advantage of the HAPPY HOUR drinks half priced also the atmospheric ambiance is more rich because you don't have the unscenic river distracting your attention. Compared to other restaurants in it's class, I think this restaurant is slightly over rated and very over priced to value. There are other restaurants (The Blu Bar and Grill) on the river that offer better food for better prices slightly different atmosphere not fine dining.

For the prices at this restaurant including taxi fare and distance, you might consider eating in the central city. I would recommend an all you can eat bufffet at one of the larger 5 star hotels which would cost about $30.00-40.00 USD a person all you can drink wine included with the meal. Hotels like: Marriot Renniassance, Legend, Caravelle, and Duxton just to name a few. If you want a new and different but costly eating experience, I recommend The Deck.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Glenn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent dining experience at The Deck Saigon. Our goal is to provide our customers with the best dining experience in Saigon. Its a pleasure to know that we've met some of your expectations and sadly some not. We are not a large hotel chain, therefore, do not offer the same services you could get including an all-you-can-eat buffet. We aim to offer a different and unique dining experience and even interesting one! We do hope to welcome you back again and please email me personally at geoffrey@thedecksaigon.com and I'll be sure to arrange the perfect table for you.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Lovely venue - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

While the food did not knock my socks off, it is a solid performer. We ordered 11 starters/ sides dishes which worked well for our group of 3 as we ordered as we went.

Lovely decor and entrance so an impressive place to invite guests.

Service was good though not 100% attentive at times with a forgotten drink order (happens anywhere...).

It's not the cheapest place in town by any stretch but we left satisfied and taxis were on standby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Scambuster,

The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us recently. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant experience in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to 'The Deck' for a little treat while in How Chi Minh, and it was one of the best places I have ever been. The food was unbelievable; came quickly, was presented beautifully, was the perfect size and so delicious - by far the best meal I have had in this culinary extraordinaire of a country! The atmosphere was cool and stylish and a scenic break from the bustle of the city, being right on the river, and the staff were smiley and charming from beginning to end.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Scarlett B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about The Deck Saigon. Its always a delight to hear when we've exceeded our guest expectations. We know there are many great restaurants to choose from in Saigon so we appreciate you spending your evening with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST restaurant visited in Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had the most incredible evening here in a gorgeous location on the river. The cocktail of the week was amazing, and our supper was more than delicious. The duck spring roll was mouth watering and the salmon was even better! I couldn't recommend this place enough and to top our evening off all the staff were wonderful, friendly and smiley! Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Isabella,

The entire team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for your review. It's our pleasure to hear that we could make your time with us a memorable one. We do hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing