We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort!!!”
Review of The Deck Saigon

The Deck Saigon
Ranked #65 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne,Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Worth the effort!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I made my booking for dinner via the internet prior to arriving in HCMC and Geoffrey responded promptly. After reading other reviews, we decided to also book the boat service both ways. That morning, I got customer services at our hotel to ring and confirm our booking and also to obtain details on where to meet the boat. Unfortunately there was no boat waiting and after waiting 45 mins (and missing the sunset) we were about to give up when a local boat driver, who was aware of our situation, organised a boat for us. All good, until he stopped in the middle of the Saigon River, turned off the motor and asked for cash (1 million VND). I was under the assumption that the boat trip was to be added to our account, but had no option other than to pay up (or swim!!).
Upon our arrival at The Deck, my husband reported this immediately to the restaurant and they managed to retrieve our money from the boat driver, quietly and without any disturbance to other customers. The driver had attempted to rip us off, so beware! My advice would be....take the boat, it was fun but just make sure that you contact the restaurant directly yourself for confirmation & details.
Boat trip aside, we were greeted with a welcome drink and placed at a table on the waters edge, it was beautiful. Yes, you need a torch to read the menu but many restaurants do that now, even when your sitting inside. I'd rather sit at a candlelit table with some ambience and use a torch for a few minutes than feel like I'm sitting under a spotlight!
Service was elegant, meal was beautiful, lots of seafood choices and we were offered drinks to make up for boat trip mix up. There was a table of obnoxious, loud, 25 year oldish cashed up locals that we could've done without but that's no ones fault (except their parents!!)
It certainly helped that the weather was absolutely perfect, but I still think its a very special venue regardless of the weather.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Gourmet40,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you feel it was worth the effort. From time to time our bookings do get mixed up and we would like to thank you for your understanding and patience. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Geofffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    294
    110
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Getting there and still the best dinning on the river !”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many times and generally enjoy eating on the river. In fact , this is its biggest selling point. My booking was not recorded , however the Manager found us a table after a 30 min wait. The menu hasn't changed a great deal in two years, but its consistent and presented well. Prices have jumped up and this alone , I would expect better service. This may come , as staff were young and were being over looked by the GM. Always enjoyed and became popular with richer VNese.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedroviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear pedroviet,

The entire team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us recently and sharing your thoughts here on Trip Advisor. I do remember speaking with you about your booking and would like to apologize for somehow not having the record - but thank you for your patience in allowing me to find you a table as Saturday nights fill up very quickly. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team and in fact our menu is about to have some great new dishes we hope you can sample next time you visit us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Probably better in daylight!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We arrived after dark and had to chose from the menu using torch light. The decking was badly lit and when our food arrived we had trouble seeing what we were eating until we asked for further candles.Although the food tasted quite good the service was rapid to say the least and our meal was over in 45 mins! The food was simply delivered too quickly with no respite in between. Whilst the restaurant was off the beaten track in District 2 it is located right on the riverbank but unfortunately we could not enjoy the views owing to the lack of lighting.
We would certainly recommend the restaurant in daylight when we imagine the views to be stunning but but this was not a relaxing meal so be prepared for quick service and an adequate meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Colin H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. Certainly we agree the experience by night and day are both very different. As we are known for being a very romantic dinner destination we light the dining room using almost all candle light and it can be a bit dark! By day you can watch the water hyacinth and boats whisk by much clearer - both very unique experiences for our guests. I'm suprised to hear about the rapid service! We certainly do not mean to rush you and next time you come in please let me know personally (geoffrey@thedecksaigon.com). I'm happy to ensure you have a great time with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine dining in District 2”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you don't want to pay the price of Trois Gourmand, but still want a nice environment and fine dining then the Deck is well worth a visit. It is maybe a step down from 3G in quality, but you will still be happy with anything you order and if you are lucky enough to get a table by the river then few experiences will beat it for ambience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Julian C,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us here on Trip Advisor. We are very lucky to have a great location set right on the banks of the Saigon River and so happy you enjoyed the experience.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards, Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent with a great view”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate lunch here as part of our tour with Buffalo Tours. We arrived and left by boat, and I think that's the only way of getting there. Excellent food and plenty of it, with great views of the river. Large mirrors behind us gave the impression we were moving. Very good service as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDeckSaigon, Manager at The Deck Saigon, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Abbykat,

The entire team at The Deck Saigon would like to thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write such a great review about your experience with us. We're so happy you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. You can access our restaurant very easily by taxi as well but by boat is far more fun!

Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Deschamps, Manager, The Deck Saigon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck Saigon also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Deck Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing